Each semester, topics for sophomore seminars vary and draw on the rich and diverse interests of the faculty who teach them. Honors faculty from numerous academic disciplines teach these seminars, allowing students to meet scholars from a broad cross section of the university. These seminars are open only to Honors College students.

 

Fall 2021 HCOL 185/SPRING 2022 HCOL 186
 
 
   
Professor
Class
Contact Information

Michael Ashooh
HCOL 185 N - Evolution of Ethics (Fall 2021)
Michael.Ashooh@uvm.edu
(802) 656-4042
Philosophy
70 S. Williams, Rm. 209
Faculty Bio

Tracy Ballysingh

HCOL 186 K - D1: (In)Equality in P-16 American Education  (Spring 2022) Tracy.Ballysingh@uvm.edu
(802) 656-4124
Leadership & Dev. Science
Mann Hall, Rm.210D
Faculty Bio

John Barlow

John Barlow

HCOL 186 H - (SU:) One Health (Spring 2022)

john.barlow@uvm.edu
(802) 656-1395
Animal & Vet. Sciences
Terrill Building, Rm 202
Faculty Bio

Andrew Barnaby
Andrew Barnaby
HCOL 185 Q - Art & Literary Adaptation
Andrew.Barnaby@uvm.edu
(802) 656-4151
English
Old Mill, Rm. 420
Faculty Bio
    Julian Barnett
Julian Barnett
HCOL 185 G - Performance and Activism
Julian.Barnett@uvm.edu
(802) 656-2095
Theatre and Dance
Royall Tyler Theatre
Faculty Bio
 
    Eric Bishop-Von Wettberg
Eric Bishop-
Von Wettberg
HCOL 185 F - SU: Crop Domestication and the Ecological History of Civilization (Fall 2021)
(802) 656-9117
Plant and Soil Science
Jeffords Hall, Rm. 211
 Buchanan
Andrew Buchanan
HCOL 185 C - D1: D1: War, Race, Identity in America
Andrew.Buchanan@uvm.edu
(802) 656-3180
History
Wheeler House
Faculty Bio

Boğaç Ergene

HCOL 186 M – D2: Islam & Human Rights (Spring 2022)Bogac.Ergene@uvm.edu
(802) 656-4474
History
Wheeler House, Rm. 313
Faculty Bio

Jon Erickson

HCOL 186 O – A Prosperous Way Down (Spring 2022)
(802) 656-3328
Sustainability Science &Policy
204D Aiken Center

Erik Esselstrom

HCOL  186 P – China and the West (Spring 2022)

Erik.Esselstrom@uvm.edu
(802) 656-3536
History
Wheeler House, Rm. 211
Faculty Bio

              
Stephanie Glickman
HCOL 185 K - Leonardo daVinci:Art & Science
Stephanie.Glickman@uvm.edu
(802)656-2014
Art & Art History
Williams Hall
No Faculty Bio
 

Gramling
Robert Gramling

HCOL 185 A - Conversation Epidemiology (Fall 2021)

Robert.gramling@med.uvm.edu
(802) 847-4848
Department of Family Medicine
UVMMC, Smith, Rm. 262
Faculty Bio

Jenny Grosvenor

HCOL 186 C - Crafting Point of View (Spring 2022)
no phone
English
417 Old Mill

 

Sean Hurley

Sean Hurley

HCOL 186 B - How We Learn: Brain, Mind &   Education (Spring 2022)
(802) 656-2072
Education
Waterman 499B
Ipsa-landa
Zachary Ipsa-Landa
HCOL 185 O - SU: Honey Bee Culture (Fall 2021)
zachary.ispa-landa@uvm.edu
(802)656-8884
RSENR
U Heights South, Room 9C
Jana Kraft
Jana Kraft
HCOL 185 B - Animal Products in Human Nutrition (Fall 2021)
Jana.Kraft@uvm.edu
(802) 656-5489
Animal & Veterinary Sciences
219 Terrill Bldg.
Faculty Bio
Winnie Looby
Winnie Looby
HCOL 185 D – D2: Disability Studies and Media Representation (Fall 2021)
(802) 656-1334
Education, CDCI
Mann, Rm. 302B

Cristina Mazzoni

HCOL 186 J – Women & Fairy Tales in Europe (Spring 2022)Cristina.Mazzoni@uvm.edu
(802) 656-2532
Romance Languages
Waterman, Rm.
Faculty Bio

McGowan
Abigail McGowan
HCOL 185 A - D2:Visualizing History: India (Fall 2021)
Abigail.McGowan@uvm.edu
(802) 656-1273 
History
Wheeler House, Room 300


Edward McMahon

HCOL 185 E - Community Organizing & Civil Engagement (Fall 2021)Edward.McMahon@uvm.edu
(802) 656-4565
Comm. Development &Applied Economics
208C Morrill Hall
 

Erik Monsen

HCOL 186 N - Critical Perspectives on Innovation and Entrepreneurship (Spring 2022)Erik.Monsen@uvm.edu
(802) 656 8994
Grossman School of Business
Kalkin Hall, Rm. 320
Faculty Bio

Harlan Morehouse

HCOL 186 A - Geographies of Life and Death (Spring 2022)
802-656-0992
Geography
Old Mill Rm 208
Helen Morgan Parnett
Helen Morgan Parnett
HCOL 185 I - Social Justice Debates (Fall 2021)
 
HCOL 186 E - D1:Katrina Disaster (Spring 2022)
(802) 656-0097
Theatre and Dance
Huber House, 475 Main St.
 

Brittany Mosher
HCOL 185 L - Wildlife Disease Ecology (Fall 2021)
brittany.mosher@uvm.edu
(802) 656-3105
RSENR
303G Aiken Center
Faculty Bio

Natalie Neuert

HCOL 186 G – Culture in Exile: Berlin/NY/LA (Spring 2022)
(802) 656-5806
Music
Southwick, Rm. 200A

Paolo Pucci

HCOL 186 F – On the Margins: Inclusion vs. Exclusion of Minorities in Italian Culture (Spring 2022)

(802) 656-0899
Romance Languages & Cultures
512 Waterman
   Donna Rizzo         Donna Rizzo
HCOL 185 A - Conversation Epidemiology (Fall 2021)
drizzo@uvm.edu
(802) 656-1495
Civil & Env. Engineering
Votey, Rm. 219
Faculty Bio
Susanna Schrafstetter
Susanna Schraftstetter
HCOL 185 J - Jews under Fascism and Nazism (Fall 2021)
Susanna.Schrafstetter@uvm.edu
(802) 656-9842
History
312 Wheeler House
Faculty Bio
 
Jonah Steinberg
Jonah Steinberg
HCOL 185 M – People Poison Place (Fall 2021)
Jonah.Steinberg@uvm.edu
(802) 656-2988
Anthropology
Williams Hall 510
Faculty Bio

E. Thomas Sullivan

HCOL 186 I – Free Speech & Expression (Spring 2022)Thomas.Sullivan@uvm.edu
(802) 656-7878
Political Science
Old Mill, Rm. 500
Faculty Bio

Markus Thali

HCOL 186 D – Viruses – Good News after all!  (Spring 2022)markus.thali@uvm.edu
802-656-1056
Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
318B Stafford
Faculty Bio
DToufexis
Donna Toufexis
HCOL 185 D - D2: Women in Science (Fall 2021)
donna.toufexis@uvm.edu
802-656-3497
Psychological Sciences
302 Dewey Hall