Each semester, topics for sophomore seminars vary and draw on the rich and diverse interests of the faculty who teach them. Honors faculty from numerous academic disciplines teach these seminars, allowing students to meet scholars from a broad cross section of the university. These seminars are open only to Honors College students.

Fall 2018/SPRING 2019 - DRAFT - PLEASE CHECK BACK LATER
Professor Class Contact Information

Eyal Amiel
Eyal Amiel

HCOL 186 G -  TBA - (Spring 2019) Eyal.Amiel@uvm.edu
(802) 656-0522
Biomedical & Health Sciences
302F Rowell Building
Faculty Bio

Michael Ashooh
Michael Ashooh

HCOL 185 D -  Ethics and Evolution (Fall 2018) Michael.Ashooh@uvm.edu
(802) 656-4042
Philosophy
70 S. Williams, Rm. 209
Faculty Bio

Andrew Barnaby
Andrew Barnaby

HCOL 186 C - Art & Literary Adaptation (Spring 2019) Andrew.Barnaby@uvm.edu
(802) 656-4151
English
Old Mill, Rm. 420
Faculty Bio

Paul Besaw
Paul Besaw

HCOL 185 K - D1: Dance in Minstrelsy & Hip Hop (Fall 2018) Paul.Besaw@uvm.edu
(802) 656-7912
Music & Dance
Southwick Hall, Rm. 307
Faculty Bio

Andrew Buchanan
Andrew Buchanan

HCOL 185 C - D1: War, Race, Identity in America (Fall 2018) Andrew.Buchanan@uvm.edu
(802) 656-3180
History
Wheeler House
Faculty Bio

Jan Carney
Jan Carney

HCOL 186 J -  Controversies in Public Health (Spring 2019) Jan.Carney@uvm.edu
(802) 656-8275
Larner College of Medicine
Given Courtyard N217
Faculty Bio

Angeline Chiu
Angeline Chiu

HCOL 185 N -   Shakespeare & Classical Traditions (Fall 2018) Angeline.Chiu@uvm.edu
(802) 656-8613
Classics
481 Main Street, Rm. 301
Faculty Bio

Catherine Donnelly
Catherine Donnelly

HCOL 185 H - Issues in Food Systems and Food Safety (Fall 2018) Catherine.Donnelly@uvm.edu
(802) 656-5495
Nutrition and Food Services
Carrigan Wing, Rm. 254
Faculty Bio

Bogac Ergene
Bogac Ergene

HCOL 186 B -  D2: Islam & Human Rights Bogac.Ergene@uvm.edu
(802) 656-4474
History
Wheeler House, Rm. 313
Faculty Bio

Joel Goldberg
Joel Goldberg

HCOL 186 H  -  Pathological Science Joel.Goldberg@uvm.edu
(802) 656-4394
Chemistry
Discovery W321
Faculty Bio

Sean Hurley
Sean Hurley

HCOL 185 G - How We Learn: Brain, Mind and Education (Fall 2018) Sean.Hurley@uvm.edu
(802) 656-2072
College of Education and Social Services
499B Waterman
Faculty Bio

Adrian Ivakhiv
Adrian Ivakhiv

HCOL 186 F - Self Cultivation & Spirtual Practice (Spring 2019) Adrian.Ivakhiv@uvm.edu
(802) 656-0180
RSENR
The Bittersweet Bldg.
Faculty Bio

Jana Kraft
Jana Kraft

HCOL 186 M - Animal Products in Humann Nutrition (Spring 2019) Jana.Kraft@uvm.edu
(802) 656-5489
Animal & Veterinary Sciences
219 Terrill Bldg.
Faculty Bio

William Louisos
William Louisos

HCOL 186 N - Energy Dynamics in Complex Universe (Spring 2019) William.Louisos@uvm.edu
(802) 656-3357
Mechanical Engineering
301 Perkins
Faculty Bio

Cristina Mazzoni
Cristina Mazzoni

HCOL 186 K - Women & Fairy Tales in European Traditions (Spring 2019) Cristina.Mazzoni@uvm.edu
(802) 656-2532
Romance Languages
506A Waterman
Faculty Bio

McMahon
Edward McMahon

HCOL 185 M - Crafting Democratic Institutions (Fall 2018) Edward.McMahon@uvm.edu
(802) 656-4565
CDAE/POLS
Morrill Hall, Rm. 202
Faculty Bio

Scott Merrill
Scott Merrill

HCOL 186 I - Ecological Gaming (Spring 2019) Scott.C.Merrill@uvm.edu
(802) 656-0711
Plant & Soil Science
217 Jeffords
Faculty Bio

Natalie Neuert

Natalie Neuert

HCOL 185 B -  Culture in Exile: Berlin/NY/LA (Fall 2018) Natalie.Neuert@uvm.edu
(802) 656-5806
Music and Dance
Southwick Hall, Rm. 200A
Faculty Bio

Holly Painter
Holly Painter

HCOL 185 J - D2:At Work in America: Oral Histories (Fall 2018) Holly.Painter@uvm.edu
(802) 656-1127
English
Old Mill, Rm. 322
Faculty Bio

Susanna Schrafstetter
Susanna Schraftstetter

HCOL 186 O - Germany Since 1945: Legacy of Nazism (Spring 2019) Susanna.Schrafstetter@uvm.edu
(802) 656-9842
History
312 Wheeler House
Faculty Bio

Stephanie Seguino
Stephanie Seguino

HCOL 185 I - D1: Social Inequities: Separating Cause from Consequences (Fall 2018) Stephanie.Seguino@uvm.edu
(802) 656-0187
Economics
Old Mill, Rm. 340
Faculty Bio

Amy Seidl
Amy Seidl

HCOL 186 E - Environmental Literature of the Anthropocene (Spring 2019) Amy.Seidl@uvm.edu
(802) 656-0179
RSENR
214 Bittersweet Bldg.
Faculty Bio

Robert Taylor
Robert Taylor

HCOL 186 L - Democratic Citizen (Spring 2019) Robert.Taylor@uvm.edu
(802) 656-4289
Political Science
Old Mill, Rm. 534
Faculty Bio

Amy Tomas
Amy Tomas

HCOL 186 A - New Product Development: Innovation (Spring 2019) Amy.Tomas@uvm.edu
(802) 656-4711
Grossman School of Business
Kalkin 208
Faculty Bio


Donna Toufexis

HCOL 185 F - D2: Women in Science (Fall 2018) Donna.Toufexis@uvm.edu
(802) 656-3497
PSYS
John Dewey Hall, Rm. 302
Faculty Bio

Mark Usher
Mark Usher

HCOL 185 A - SU: Sustainability: A Cultural History (Fall 2018)

Mark.Usher@uvm.edu

(802) 656-4431
Classics
481 Main St., Rm. 303
Faculty Bio

Christine Vatovec
Christine Vatovec

HCOL 186 P - SU:Climate Change and Human Health (Fall 2018) Christine.Vatovec@uvm.edu
(802) 656-2718
Biochemistry
Aiken Center, 303C
Faculty Bio

Scott Waterman
G. Scott Waterman

HCOL 185 L - D2: Philosophical Perspectives on Mental Illness (Fall 2018) Scott.Waterman@uvm.edu
(802) 656-3995
Psychiatry
Courtyard at Given, Rm. N123
Faculty Bio

Maria Woolson
Maria Woolson

HCOL 186 D - D2:SU: Environment, Ecocriticism & Challenge of Being Global (Spring 2019) Maria.Woolson@uvm.edu
(802) 656-0723
Romance Languages
542 Waterman
Faculty Bio

Zakaras
Alex Zakaras

HCOL 185 E - Individualism and Its Dangers (Fall 2018) Alex.Zakaras@uvm.edu
(802) 656-8229
Political Science
Old Mill Rm. 522
Faculty Bio