Each semester, topics for sophomore seminars vary and draw on the rich and diverse interests of the faculty who teach them. Honors faculty from numerous academic disciplines teach these seminars, allowing students to meet scholars from a broad cross section of the university. These seminars are open only to Honors College students.

Fall 2017 and Spring 2018
Professor Class Contact Information

Michael Ashooh
Michael Ashooh

HCOL 185F Ethics and Evolution (Fall 2017) Michael.Ashooh@uvm.edu
656-4042
Philosophy
70 S. Williams, Rm. 209
Faculty Bio

Andrew Barnaby
Andrew Barnaby

HCOL 185C Art and Literacy Adaptation (Fall 2017) Andrew.Barnaby@uvm.edu
656-4151
English
Old Mill, Rm. 420
Faculty Bio

Brian Beckage
Brian Beckage

HCOL 186P - SU:Complexity, Climate Change and Society (Spring 2018) Brian.Beckage@uvm.edu
656-0197
Plant Biology
Jeffords Hall Rm. 345
Faculty Bio

Jan Carney
Jan Carney

HCOL 186J Controversies in Public Health (Spring 2018) Jan.Carney@uvm.edu
656-8275
Robert Larner MD College of Medicine
Given Courtyard N217
Faculty Bio

Angeline Chiu
Angeline Chiu

HCOL 185N  Shakespeare & Classical Traditions (Fall 2017) Angeline.Chiu@uvm.edu
656-8613
Classics
481 Main Street, Rm. 301
Faculty Bio

Catherine Donnelly
Catherine Donnelly

HCOL 185O Issues in Food Systems and Food Safety (Fall 2017) Catherine.Donnelly@uvm.edu
656-5495
Nutrition and Food Services
Carrigan Wing, Rm. 254
Faculty Bio

Kelley DiDio
Kelley DiDio

HCOL 185M  Art and Its Destruction (Fall 2017) Kelley.DiDio@uvm.edu
656-
Art
Williams Hall 111

Faculty Bio

Bogac Ergene
Bogac Ergene

HCOL 186B - Islam and Human Rights (Spring 2018) Bogac.Ergene@uvm.edu
656-4474
History
Wheeler House
Faculty Bio

Jan Feldman
Jan Feldman

HCOL 186E - Democratic Theory (Spring 2018) Jan.Feldman@uvm.edu
656-4202br> Political Science
Old Mill, Rm. 511
Faculty Bio

Sean Flynn
Sean Flynn

HCOL 186G - Vitamin N: The Medical Potential of Nature (Spring 2018) Sean.p.Flynn@uvm.edu
656-0414
Neurological Science
Stafford Rm. 118
Faculty Bio

Joel Goldberg
Joel Goldberg

HCOL 186H - Pathological Science: How Do We Know What We Know? (Spring 2018) Joel.Goldberg
656-4394
Chemistry
438 College Street
Faculty Bio

Ian Grimmer
Ian Grimmer

HCOL 186A - History of Psychoanalytical Thought (Spring 2018) Ian.Grimmer@uvm.edu
656-9102
Honors College, History
University Heights North
Faculty Bio

Jenny Grosvenor
Jenny Grosvenor

HCOL 186C - Crafting Point of View (Spring 2018) Jenny.Grosvenor@uvm.edu
656-3838
English
Old Mill, Rm. 417
Faculty Bio

Sean Hurley
Sean Hurley

HCOL 185L  How We Learn: Brain, Mind (Fall 2017) Sean.Hurley@uvm.edu
656-2072
College of Education and Social Services
499B Waterman
Faculty Bio

Adrian Ivankiv
Adrian Ivakhiv

HCOL 186F - Self-Cultivation and Spiritual Practice: Comparative Perspectives (Spring 2018) Adrian.Ivakhiv@uvm.edu
656-0180
RSENR
The Bittersweet Bldg.
Faculty Bio

Jana Kraft
Jana Kraft

HCOL 186M - Animal Products and Human Nutrition (Spring 2018) Jana.Kraft@uvm.edu
656-8827
Animal and Veterinary Sciences
Terrill Hall, Rm. 219
Faculty Bio

William Louisos

William Louisos

HCOL 185B  Energy Dynamics in Complex World (Fall 2017) William.Louisos@uvm.edu
656-3357
Mechanical Engineering
Votey Building, Rm. 201
Faculty Bio

Cristina Mazzoni
Cristina Mazzoni

HCOL 186K - Women and Fairy Tales in the European Tradition (Spring 2018) Cristina.Mazzoni@uvm.edu
656-2532
Romance Languages
506A Waterman
Faculty Bio

McMahon
Edward McMahon

HCOL 185K Crafting Democratic Institutions (Fall 2017) Edward.McMahon@uvm.edu
656-4565
CDAE/Political Science
Morrill Hall, Room 205
Faculty Bio

Jane Molofsky
Jane Molofsky

HCOL 185G Plants on the Move (Fall 2017) Jane Molofsky@uvm.edu
656-0430
Plant Biology
Jeffords, Rm. 111
Faculty Bio

Charles Louis Morand Metivier
Charles-Louis Morand Metivier

HCOL 186I - "War is Hell" (Spring 2018) cmorandm@uvm.edu
656-8823
Romance Languages
Waterman, Rm. 517
Faculty Bio

C. Brandon Ogbunugafor
Brandon Ogbunugafor

HCOL 185H  Evolutionary Medicine (Fall 2017) Brandon.Ogbunugafor@uvm.edu
656-
Biology
Marsh Life Science
Faculty Bio

Donald Ross
Donald Ross

HCOL 186N - SU:SL:Soils and Sustainable Civilizations (Spring 2018) Donald.Ross@uvm.edu
656-0138
Plant and Soil Science
260 Jeffords
Faculty Bio

schrafstetter
Susanna Schrafstetter

HCOL 185P  Germany Since 1945 (Fall 2017) Susanna.Schrafstetter@uvm.edu
(802) 656-9842
History
Wheeler House, Rm. 303
Faculty Bio

Amy Tomas
Amy Tomas

HCOL 185E  New Product Development: Innovation (Fall 2017) Amy.Tomas@uvm.edu
656-4711
Grossman School of Business
Kalkin Hall, Rm. 208
Faculty Bio

Kevin Trainor
Kevin Trainor

HCOL 186D - The Problem of Experience (Spring 2018) Kevin.Trainor@uvm.edu
656-0799
Religion
481 Main Street, Rm. 203
Faculty Bio

Christine Vatovec
Christine Vatovec

HCOL 186O - SU:Climate Change and Human Health (Spring 2018) Christine.Vatovec@uvm.edu
656-2718
Biochemistry
Aiken Center, 303C
Faculty Bio

Kimberly Wallin

Kimberly Wallin

HCOL 185D  Challenge of Biological Invasion(Fall 2017) Kimberly.Wallin@uvm.edu
656-2517
Rubenstein School of Environment and Natural Resources
Aiken Center, Rm. 313A
Faculty Bio

Maria Woolson
Maria Woolson

HCOL 185I  Environment, Enocriticism and the Challange of Being Global (Fall 2017) Maria.Woolson@uvm.edu
656-0723
Romance Languages
Waterman, Rm. 542
Faculty Bio

Zakaras
Alex Zakaras

HCOL 185J  Individualism and Its Dangers (Fall 2017) Alex.Zakaras@uvm.edu
656-8229
Political Science
Old Mill Rm. 522
Faculty Bio