Research, Scholarship, and the Creative Arts Committee is a standing committee of the Faculty Senate

Charge of the RSCA

This committee is responsible for matters relating to research activities, scholarly work, and creative and performing arts carried out at the University, including graduate education and items referred to in Sections 1.1c, 1.2b, 1.2g, and 1.2k in the Faculty Senate bylaws.  The RSCA reviews, recommends, and participates in the formulation of policy with respect to resources related to these activities, including physical facilities and allocation of appurtenant space, library resources and resources for graduate programs, and makes recommendations to assure effective use of these resources. The RSCA serves as liaison between the Senate and the administration on such matters as, but not limited to: the broad role of the University in advancing knowledge through research, scholarship, and the performing arts; external and internal support for encouraging these activities, including graduate and undergraduate research; intellectual property, and technology transfer; ethical issues and issues affecting the academic environment as these arise in research or scholarly work. The RSCA consults frequently with other University and collegiate committees that are charged to initiate, maintain, and monitor institutional support programs for research, scholarship, the creative arts, and graduate education, as well as maintains close liaison with appropriate administrative offices in its areas of responsibility.

RSCA Operating Procedures (pdf)

RSCA Membership & Chair

Supplementing the membership described in 7.121a of the Faculty Senate bylaws, this committee shall include an additional member from the College of Arts and Sciences representing the field of the creative and performing arts.

The Chair of the RSCA is Mary Cushman, Dr. Cushman is a Professor of Medicine in the Larner College of Medicine. 

2019-2020 Research, Scholarship & the Creative Arts Committee Members
College Name Photo term
Arts & Science Gough, Katie Katie Gough 2018-2021
Arts & Science Brennan, Vicki Vicki Brennan 2019-2022
Arts & Science Vacant   2017-2020
Agriculture & Life Science Keller, Steve Steve Keller 2017-2020
Business (Grossman School) Monsen, Erik   2019-2022
Education & Social Services Mancini, Kelly Kelly Mancini 2018-2021
Engineering & Mathematical Science Holmen, Britt Britt Holmen 2018-2021
Environment & Natural Resources (Rubenstein School) Gould, Rachelle Rachael Gould 2019-2022
Libraries Doherty, Prudence   2017-2020
Larner College of Medicine Cushman, Mary Mary Cushman 2017-2020
Larner College of Medicine Weiss, Daniel Dan Weiss 2019-2022
Nursing & Health Science Krementsov, Dimitry Dimitry Krementsov 2019-2022
Graduate Student Senate Adler, Nick   2019-2020
Student Government Association Wobby, Stephanie   2019-2020


RSCA Meeting Schedule and Materials

Waterman Sign

The RSCA generally meets the second Thursday of each month from 12:30 - 2:00 p.m. in Waterman 427A.

2019-2020 RSCA Meeting Schedule and Materials

2019-2020 RSCA Meeting Schedule
Date Agenda Minutes
September 12th Agenda Minutes
October 10th Agenda Minutes
November 14th Agenda Minutes
December 12th No Meeting  
January 9th Agenda Minutes
February 13th Agenda Minutes
March 19th Agenda Minutes
April 9th Agenda Minutes
May 14th Agenda Minutes

2018-2019 RSCA Meeting Schedule and Materials

2018-2019 RSCA Meeting Schedule
Date Agenda Minutes
September 13, 2018 Agenda Minutes
October 11, 2018 Agenda Minutes
November 8, 2018 Agenda Minutes
December 6, 2018 Agenda Minutes
January 10, 2019 Agenda Minutes
March 7, 2019 Agenda Minutes
April 18, 2019 Agenda Minutes
May 9, 2019 Agenda Minutes

2017-2018 RSCA Meeting Schedule and Materials

2017-2018 RSCA Meeting Schedule
Date Agenda Minutes
September 14, 2017 Agenda Minutes
October 12, 2017 Agenda Minutes
November 9, 2017 Agenda Minutes
December 7, 2017 Agenda Minutes
January 7, 2018 Agenda Minutes
February 8, 2018 Agenda Minutes
March 8, 2018 Agenda Minutes
April 12, 2018 Agenda Minutes
May 10, 2018 Agenda Minutes

2016-2017 RSCA Meeting Schedule and Materials

2016-2017 RSCA Meeting Schedule
Date Agenda Minutes
September 8, 2016 Agenda Minutes
October 13, 2016 Agenda Minutes
November 10, 2016 Agenda Minutes
December 8, 2016 Agenda Minutes
January 12, 2017 Agenda Minutes
February 9, 2017 Agenda Minutes
March 9, 2017 Agenda Minutes
April 13, 2017 Agenda Minutes
May 18, 2017 Agenda Minutes