

Research, Scholarship & the Creative Arts Committee April 18, 2019 427a Waterman 12:30-2:00

Present: Chris Burns (LIB), Mary Cushman (LCOM), Rachelle Gould (RSENR), Britt

Holmen (CEMS), Steve Keller (CALS), Dimitry Krementsov (CNHS), Cathy Paris (Faculty Senate President), Albert van der Vliet (COM), Chun Zhang

(GSB).

Absent: Jess Bocanegra (GSS), Steve Budington (CAS), Tammy Kolbe (CESS), David

Neiweem (CAS), **Matthew Price (CAS).

Guests: No guests at this time

Chair Chris Burns called the meeting to order at 12:33pm in 427a Waterman.

- **1. Approval of the Minutes.** The minutes of January 10, 2019 and March 21, 2019 were approved as written.
- 2. RSCA 2019 / 2020 Chair. Chris has been elected by the faculty as the Faculty Senate VP for the 2019-2021 term. He will no longer serve as the chair of the RSCA. The committee needs a chair for the 2019/2020 year. The Faculty Senate Office will send out a call for nominations to the committee. The idea of a co-chair model was discussed. Once the nomination period is complete the Faculty Senate Office will conduct an electronic election.
- **3. Burack Lecture Nominations.** The committee went into executive meeting to discuss the current list of Burack Lecture Nominations. Chris will forward the recommendations to Gary Derr in the President's Office.
- **4. New Business.** Publicizing the Burack Lectures. The committee would like to add to a future agenda how the RSCA can help publicize the Burack Lectures on campus.

**On Leave

The next meeting of the RSCA is scheduled for Thursday, May 9, 2019 from 12:30-2:00 in 427a Waterman.