• Cathy Paris Commencement Parade

The administration and the Faculty Senate of the University of Vermont share responsibility for the effective management of the academic affairs of the University.  

Authority in matters related to the academic mission of the University is vested in the faculty by the Board of Trustees.  This authority is exercised in the Faculty Senate by elected senators with voting privileges and by committees authorized to act on their behalf.  Meetings of the Faculty Senate are presided over by a Senate President and Vice-President and follow a town-meeting format at which all University faculty members have a voice. 

Faculty Senate Constitution & Bylaws


The UVM Faculty Senate meetings are open to the public, and are generally held on the fourth Monday of each month from 4:00 - 5:30 p.m. in the Waterman Memorial Lounge.  The May meeting is an exception to the general meeting pattern.  


The next meeting of the Faculty Senate will be:

Monday, September 23, 2019

4:00 - 5:30 p.m.,

Waterman Memorial Lounge.  

  • September Meeting Agenda and Materials >>