Blue by Explorance

Blue course evaluation software was adopted by UVM in Fall 2019. Blue by Explorance is a centralized online evaluation tool with decentralized control and access. It automates invitation and administration of surveys to students, compiles data anonymously and securely, and delivers private, comprehensive reports to faculty members.

Blue is also integrated with Blackboard so students may access surveys in this familiar location as well.

Course Evaluation Schedule

Mid-Term Course Evaluations - Fall 2022
Applicable to CNHS DPT, Public Health, CALS PBIO, and CEMS only.
EventsDates
Deadline to submit new or to make changes to existing surveys*Aug 29
DIG tasks open for DIG AdminsSep 12 - 16
Mid-Term evaluations period**Sep 26 - Oct 23
All reports published***varies by department

 

End-of-Term Course Evaluations - Fall 2022
EventsDates
Deadline to submit new or to make changes to existing surveys*Sep 23
DIG tasks open for DIG AdminsOct 3 - 21
End-of-Term evaluations period**Nov 14 - Dec 16
All reports published***Dec 22 - 23

 

Winter Session Course Evaluations - Spring 2023
Applicable to CALS only.
EventsDates
Deadline to submit new or to make changes to existing surveys*Jan 3
DIG tasks open for DIG AdminsJan 4 - 9
Mid-Term evaluations period**Jan 13 - 22
All reports published***Jan 23 - 24

 

Mid-Term Course Evaluations - Spring 2023
Applicable to CNHS DPT, PUBLIC HEALTH, and CEMS only.
EventsDates
Deadline to submit new or to make changes to existing surveys*Jan 27
DIG tasks open for DIG AdminsFeb 13 - 14
Mid-Term evaluations period**Feb 27 - Mar 12
All reports published***Mar 15 - 16

 

End-of-Term Course Evaluations - Spring 2023
EventsDates
Deadline to submit new or to make changes to existing surveys*Feb 10
DIG tasks open for DIG AdminsFeb 27 - Mar 24
End-of-Term evaluations period**Apr 17 - May 14
All reports published***May 18 - 19

 


*Department Chairs: If your department is not yet using Blue and would like to, please contact BlueSurveys@uvm.edu by the date noted (by term) to start the onboarding process.
**This period is the maximum amount of time a department may choose to open course evaluations for students. Faculty: Please contact your DIG Admin (below) for the exact start and end dates for your particular course.
***Please contact the DIG Admin (below) if you require assistance retrieving reports. Individual instructors have access to their own reports in Blue directly.

Data Integrity Gateway (DIG) for Department DIG Admins

UVM has licensed the Blue Data Integrity Gateway (DIG). Each term, DIG Administrators complete a data review task via DIG before evaluations are published for students. The task includes a review and adjustment of the unit’s Banner courses and their attributes: instructor(s), survey assigned to a given course, and evaluation start and end dates. DIG Admins act as the contact for any information regarding these data points.

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
DepartmentNameEmail
Agriculture and Life Sciences - Dean Kaylee Boutin Kaylee.Boutin@uvm.edu
Animal and Veterinary Sciences Lee Andors Lee.Andors@uvm.edu
Community Development and Applied Economics Carolyn Claxton 
Julie Starr 
Carolyn.Claxton@uvm.edu
Julie.Starr@uvm.edu
Nutrition and Food Sciences Ann Martin Ann.Martin@uvm.edu
Plant Biology Sarah Goodrich Sarah.Goodrich@uvm.edu
Plant and Soil Science Anne Marie Resnik aresnik@uvm.edu

 

College of Arts and Sciences
DepartmentNameEmail
Anthropology Margaret Gilman Margaret.Gilman@uvm.edu
Art and Art History Ashleigh Howard 
Nickie Fleury 
Ashleigh.Howard@uvm.edu
Nicole.Fleury@uvm.edu
Arts and Sciences - Dean Kimberly HessKimberly.Hess@uvm.edu
Asian Languages and LiteraturesAlice Wang Yan.A.Wang@uvm.edu
Biology Aaron Robinson Aaron.Robinson@uvm.edu
Chemistry Diana Fennimore
Shan Shan Zheng
Diana.Fennimore@uvm.edu
Shan-Shan.Zheng@uvm.edu
Classics Shan Shan ZhengShan-Shan.Zheng@uvm.edu
Economics Barbara Stewart Barbara.Stewart@uvm.edu
English Beth Wilbur
Holly Brevent
Lynn Cawthon
Beth.Wilbur@uvm.edu
Holly.Brevent@uvm.edu
Lynn.Cawthon@uvm.edu
Geography and Geosciences Jennifer ReayJennifer.Reay.1@uvm.edu
German and Russian Brian Minier Brian.Minier@uvm.edu
History Ande Tagliamonte 
Shari Dike 
atagliam@uvm.edu
Shari.Dike@uvm.edu
Linguistics Shan Shan ZhengShan-Shan.Zheng@uvm.edu
Music Andy Aquino Andrea.Aquino@uvm.edu
Philosophy Andrew Malcovsky Andrew.Malcovsky@uvm.edu
Political Science Candace Smith Candace.Smith@uvm.edu
Psychological Science Cyn SullivanCyn.Sullivan@uvm.edu
Religion Shan Shan ZhengShan-Shan.Zheng@uvm.edu
Romance Languages and Cultures Shan Shan ZhengShan-Shan.Zheng@uvm.edu
Sociology Salli Griggs Salli.Griggs@uvm.edu
Theatre and Dance Nickie Fleury Nicole.Fleury@uvm.edu

 

College of Education and Social Services
DepartmentNameEmail
All departments Kristen Rousse
Kunie Renaud
Stephanie Ratmeyer
Kristen.Rousse@uvm.edu
Kunie.Renaud@uvm.edu
Stephanie.Ratmeyer@uvm.edu

 

College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences
DepartmentNameEmail
All departments (except Physics) Doug Dickey Douglas.Dickey@uvm.edu
Physics Beth Stinebring Beth.Stinebring@uvm.edu

 

College of Nursing and Health Sciences
DepartmentNameEmail
Biomedical and Health Sciences Anne MacLeod
Mischka Rizzo 
Anne.MacLeod@uvm.edu
Mischka.Rizzo@uvm.edu
Communication Sciences and Disorders Elizabeth Allen
Dale Thibault
Elizabeth.A.Allen@uvm.edu
Dale.Thibault@uvm.edu
Nursing Christina Adamczak
Whitney Feininger
Christina.Adamczak@uvm.edu
Whitney.Feininger@uvm.edu
Rehabilitation and Movement Science Mariah Hawkins
Tish Boldwin
Mariah.Hawkins@uvm.edu
Patricia.Boldwin@uvm.edu

 

Cross-College
DepartmentNameEmail
Food Systems Allison Spain allison.spain@uvm.edu
Microbiology and Molecular Genetics Debora Pereira Nascimento
Marian Miller 
Debora.Pereira-Nascimento@uvm.edu
Marian.E.Miller@uvm.edu

 

Grossman School of Business
DepartmentNameEmail
All departments Darcie Klassen
Jen O'Donnell 
Darcie.Klassen@uvm.edu
Jennifer.ODonnell@uvm.edu

 

Honors College
DepartmentNameEmail
All departments Simone Blaise-Glaunsinger Simone.Blaise@uvm.edu

 

Larner College of Medicine
DepartmentNameEmail
Office of Medical Student EducationCara Simone Cara.Simone@med.uvm.edu
Neuroscience 225/255 Margaret Vizzard Margaret.Vizzard@uvm.edu
Pharmacology Susan Curtis Susan.Curtis@med.uvm.edu
Public Health Audree Frey
Ruth Hackett
Audree.Frey@uvm.edu
Ruth.Rowell@uvm.edu

 

Rubenstein School of Environment and Natural Resources
DepartmentNameEmail
All departments Jackie Bruning
Chelsea Davidson 
jbruning@uvm.edu
Chelsea.Davidson@uvm.edu