Blue by Explorance

Blue course evaluation software was adopted by UVM in Fall 2019. Blue by Explorance is a centralized online evaluation tool with decentralized control and access. It automates invitation and administration of surveys to students, compiles data anonymously and securely, and delivers private, comprehensive reports to faculty members.

Blue is also integrated with Brightspace so students may access surveys in this familiar location as well.

Course Evaluation Schedule

 

End-of-Term Course Evaluations - Spring 2024
Events Dates
Deadline to submit new or to make changes to existing surveys* Feb 9
DIG tasks open for DIG Admins Mar 4 - Mar 22
End-of-Term evaluations period** Apr 15 - May 12
All reports published*** May 16 - 17

 

Mid-Term Course Evaluations - Spring 2024
Applicable to CNHS DPT, PUBLIC HEALTH, and CEMS only.
Events Dates
Deadline to submit new or to make changes to existing surveys* Jan 26
DIG tasks open for DIG Admins Feb 12 - 16
Mid-Term evaluations period** Feb 26 - Mar 10
All reports published*** Mar 14 - 15

 

Winter Session Course Evaluations - Spring 2024
Applicable to CALS only.
Events Dates
Deadline to submit new or to make changes to existing surveys* Jan 2
DIG tasks open for DIG Admins Jan 3 - 8
Mid-Term evaluations period** Jan 12 - 21
All reports published*** Jan 22 - 23

 

End-of-Term Course Evaluations - Fall 2023
Events Dates
Deadline to submit new or to make changes to existing surveys* Sep 22
DIG tasks open for DIG Admins Oct 2 - 20
End-of-Term evaluations period** Nov 13 - Dec 15
All reports published*** Dec 21 - 22

 

Mid-Term Course Evaluations - Fall 2023
Applicable to CNHS DPT, Public Health, CALS PBIO, and CEMS only.
Events Dates
Deadline to submit new or to make changes to existing surveys* Aug 28
DIG tasks open for DIG Admins Sep 11 - 15
Mid-Term evaluations period** Sep 25 - Oct 22
All reports published*** varies by department

 

Course Evaluations - Summer 2023
Events Dates
Deadline to submit new or to make changes to existing surveys* Apr 21
DIG tasks open for DIG Admins May 1 - 26
Evaluation period** Jun 12 - Aug 18
All reports published*** Aug 24 - 25

 


*Department Chairs: If your department is not yet using Blue and would like to, please contact BlueSurveys@uvm.edu by the date noted (by term) to start the onboarding process.
**This period is the maximum amount of time a department may choose to open course evaluations for students. Faculty: Please contact your DIG Admin (below) for the exact start and end dates for your particular course.
***Please contact the DIG Admin (below) if you require assistance retrieving reports. Individual instructors have access to their own reports in Blue directly.

Data Integrity Gateway (DIG) for Department DIG Admins

UVM has licensed the Blue Data Integrity Gateway (DIG). Each term, DIG Administrators complete a data review task via DIG before evaluations are published for students. The task includes a review and adjustment of the unit’s Banner courses and their attributes: instructor(s), survey assigned to a given course, and evaluation start and end dates. DIG Admins act as the contact for any information regarding these data points.

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Department Name Email
Agriculture and Life Sciences - Dean  Kaylee Boutin  Kaylee.Boutin@uvm.edu
Animal and Veterinary Sciences  Lee Andors  Lee.Andors@uvm.edu
Community Development and Applied Economics  Carolyn Claxton 
Julie Starr 
Carolyn.Claxton@uvm.edu
Julie.Starr@uvm.edu
Nutrition and Food Sciences  Ann Martin  Ann.Martin@uvm.edu
Plant Biology  Sarah Goodrich  Sarah.Goodrich@uvm.edu
Plant and Soil Science  Natalie Forcier  Natalie.Forcier@uvm.edu

 

College of Arts and Sciences
Department Name Email
Anthropology  Trevor Link  Trevor.Link@uvm.edu
Art and Art History  Ashleigh Howard  Ashleigh.Howard@uvm.edu
Arts and Sciences - Dean  William Loshusan William.Loshusan@uvm.edu
Asian Languages and Literatures Barbara Stewart  Barbara.Stewart@uvm.edu
Biology  David Chapnick David.Chapnick@uvm.edu
Chemistry  Diana Fennimore Diana.Fennimore@uvm.edu
Classics  Barbara Stewart Barbara.Stewart@uvm.edu
Economics  Jesse Norford Jesse.Norford@uvm.edu
English  Beth Wilbur
Holly Brevent
Lynn Cawthon
Beth.Wilbur@uvm.edu
Holly.Brevent@uvm.edu
Lynn.Cawthon@uvm.edu
Geography and Geosciences Jennifer Reay Jennifer.Reay.1@uvm.edu
History  Ande Tagliamonte 
Shari Dike 
atagliam@uvm.edu
Shari.Dike@uvm.edu
Linguistics  Barbara Stewart Barbara.Stewart@uvm.edu
Music  Andy Aquino  Andrea.Aquino@uvm.edu
Philosophy  Andrew Malcovsky  Andrew.Malcovsky@uvm.edu
Political Science  Candace Smith  Candace.Smith@uvm.edu
Psychological Science Gwen Sorezza Gwen.Sorezza@uvm.edu
Religion  Steve Clem Steve.Clem@uvm.edu
Romance Languages and Cultures  Barbara Stewart Barbara.Stewart@uvm.edu
Sociology  Salli Griggs  Salli.Griggs@uvm.edu
Theatre and Dance  Shawn Corey Shawn.Corey@uvm.edu

 

College of Education and Social Services
Department Name Email
All departments  Kristen Rousse
Stephanie Ratmeyer
Kristen.Rousse@uvm.edu
Stephanie.Ratmeyer@uvm.edu

 

College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences
Department Name Email
All departments (including Physics)  Gretchen Schissel Mary.Schissel@uvm.edu

 

College of Nursing and Health Sciences
Department Name Email
Biomedical and Health Sciences  Anne MacLeod
Mischka Rizzo 
Anne.MacLeod@uvm.edu
Mischka.Rizzo@uvm.edu
Communication Sciences and Disorders  Elizabeth Allen
Dale Thibault
Elizabeth.A.Allen@uvm.edu
Dale.Thibault@uvm.edu
Nursing  Christina Adamczak
Matthew Plotzker
Christina.Adamczak@uvm.edu Matthew.Plotzker@uvm.edu
Rehabilitation and Movement Science  Heather Sliwoski Heather.Sliwoski@med.uvm.edu

 

Cross-College
Department Name Email
Food Systems  Allison Spain  Allison.Spain@uvm.edu
Microbiology and Molecular Genetics  Linda Gregorie 
Megan Bartlett 
Linda.Gregorie@uvm.edu 
Megan.Bartlett@uvm.edu 

 

Graduate College
Department Name Email
Cell Biology  Pattie McNatt  Pattie.McNatt@uvm.edu

 

Grossman School of Business
Department Name Email
All departments  Darcie Klassen
Jen O'Donnell 
Darcie.Klassen@uvm.edu
Jennifer.ODonnell@uvm.edu

 

Honors College
Department Name Email
All departments  Simone Blaise-Glaunsinger  Simone.Blaise@uvm.edu

 

Larner College of Medicine
Department Name Email
Clinical and Translational Sciences  Erin Montgomery Erin.Montgomery@uvm.edu
Office of Medical Student Education Cara Simone  Cara.Simone@med.uvm.edu
Molecular Physiology and Biophysics  Julie Lovelette  Julie.Lovelette@uvm.edu
Neuroscience 225/255  Margaret Vizzard  Margaret.Vizzard@uvm.edu
Pharmacology  Susan Curtis  Susan.Curtis@med.uvm.edu
Public Health  Cheryl Hansen 
Audree Frey
Cheryl.Hansen@uvm.edu 
Audree.Frey@uvm.edu

 

Rubenstein School of Environment and Natural Resources
Department Name Email
All departments  Jackie Bruning
Chelsea Davidson 
jbruning@uvm.edu
Chelsea.Davidson@uvm.edu