Our Department takes pride in its reputation for great teaching, cutting-edge research, and the personal attention we give our students. Five of our faculty members have won Kroepsch-Maurice awards for excellence in teaching, and two members of our department are recipients of the prestigious University Scholar award. 

 

Graduate Student instructors can be found in the Graduate Student directory.

Department Staff

  Name Office & Phone Email
Kiki Reno 82 University Place E220 | 802-656-4281 Kiki.Reno@uvm.edu
Barbara Asiimwe  82 University Place E220 | 802-656-4355  Barbara.Asiimwe@uvm.edu

Full Time Faculty

  Name & Title Area of Expertise Email
Spencer Backman, Ph.D., Assistant Professor Algebraic and Geometric Combinatorics Spencer.Backman@uvm.edu
James Bagrow, Ph.D., Associate Professor Network Science, Complex Systems, Data Science and Machine Learning, Computational Social Science, Mathematical Modeling James.Bagrow@uvm.edu
Kevin Beard, M.B.A., Senior Lecturer Statistics Education kevin.beard@uvm.edu
Bentil Daniel Bentil, Ph.D., Associate Professor Applied Mathematics, Modeling, Biomathematics daniel.bentil@uvm.edu
Karen Benway, M.S., Senior Lecturer Statistics Education karen.benway@uvm.edu
Janice Bunn, Research Assistant Professor Janice Bunn, Ph.D., Research Associate Professor Medical Biostatistics janice.bunn@uvm.edu
Jeffrey Buzas Jeffrey S. Buzas, Ph.D., Professor, Chairperson, Director of Statistics Measurement Error Models, Instrumental Variables jeff.buzas@uvm.edu
nichole caisse Nichole Caisse, M.S., Lecturer Applied Mathematics, area of interest is Mathematical Biology, and Mathematics Education Nichole.Caisse@uvm.edu
Chip Cole, Professor Bernard (Chip) Cole, Ph.D., Professor Cancer Biostatistics, Longitudinal Data Analysis, Clinical Trials, Chemoprevention Studies bernard.cole@uvm.edu
Abigail Crocker Abigail Crocker, Ph.D., Research Assistant Professor Children's Health, Health Care Policy, Applied Statistics abigail.crocker@uvm.edu
Christopher Danforth, Ph.D., Professor Chaos, Mathematical Modeling, Computational Social Science, Complex Systems and Applied Mathematics chris.danforth@uvm.edu
Peter Dodds, Ph.D., Professor Applied Mathematics, Complex Systems and Networks, Contagion, Modeling peter.dodds@uvm.edu
François Dorais, Ph.D., Lecturer Mathematical Logic Francois.Dorais@uvm.edu
Taylor Dupuy Taylor Dupuy, Ph.D., Assistant Professor Arithmetic Geometry, Differential Algebra, and Applied Model Theory taylor.dupuy@uvm.edu
Erika Edwards, Ph.D., Research Associate Professor Epidemiology; Applied Biostatistics erika.edwards@uvm.edu
Krisan Geary, M.S.,
Senior Lecturer
Mathematics Education krisan.geary@uvm.edu
Daniel Hathaway, Ph.D.,
Lecturer
Set Theory and Mathematical Logic daniel.hathaway@uvm.edu
Tony Julianelle Tony Julianelle, Ph.D., Senior Lecturer Mathematics Education, Complex Manifolds Tony.Julianelle@uvm.edu
Karla Karstens Karla Karstens, M.S., Senior Lecturer Mathematics Education karla.karstens@uvm.edu
Joseph Kudrle, M.S., Senior Lecturer Mathematics Education joseph.kudrle@uvm.edu
Taras Lakoba, Assistant Professor Taras I. Lakoba, Ph.D., Professor Stability of Numerical Methods, Perturbation Theory, Nonlinear Waves, Fiber Optics taras.lakoba@uvm.edu
Alex Levin, M.S., Lecturer Fusion Categories and Representation Theory Alex.Levin@uvm.edu
Laura Marthaler, M.S.,
Lecturer

Combinatorics, Graph Theory,

Data Communications, Networking

laura.marthaler@uvm.edu
Jacob Martin, Ph.D., Lecturer Statistics Jacob.W.Martin@uvm.edu
Katherine Merrill, M.A., Senior Lecturer Statistics and Mathematics Education

katherine.merrill@uvm.edu

Susan Ojala

Susan Ojala, Lecturer and Research Associate

Mathematics Education susan.ojala@uvm.edu
Ted Owen, Ph.D., Lecturer Sampling Theory and the Local Pivotal Method Theodore.Owen@uvm.edu
Helen P. Read, M.S., Senior Lecturer Computer Technology in Mathematics Instruction helen.read@uvm.edu

Puck Rombach, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Mathematics

Graph/Network Theory puck.rombach@uvm.edu
Joan Rosebush, M.Ed., Senior Lecturer and Director of Student Success Mathematics Education joan.rosebush@uvm.edu
Jonathan W. Sands, Ph.D., Professor, Math Graduate Program Director Algebraic Number Theory jonathan.sands@uvm.edu
Richard Single Richard Single, Ph.D., Associate Professor Biostatistics richard.single@uvm.edu
Christelle Vincent

Christelle Vincent, Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Number Theory and Arithmetic Geometry christelle.vincent@uvm.edu
Gregory Warrington, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Associate Chairperson Combinatorics Gregory.Warrington@uvm.edu
Sheila Weaver Sheila O. Weaver, M.S., Senior Lecturer Statistics Education sheila.weaver@uvm.edu
J. Michael Wilson, Professor J. Michael Wilson, Ph.D., Professor Fourier Analysis mike.wilson@uvm.edu
Jianke Yang, Ph.D., Professor Non-Linear Waves, Non-Linear Optics, Numerical Methods jianke.yang@uvm.edu
Jun Yu Jun Yu, Ph.D., Professor Applied Mathematics, Modeling, Biomathematics jun.yu@uvm.edu

Post Doctoral Associates

         Name & Title Area of Expertise Email
Bo Yang, Ph.D., Post Doctoral Associate Integrable System & Mathematical Physics Bo.Yang.1@uvm.edu

Adjunct Faculty

  Name & Title Area of Expertise Email
Catherine Bliss, Ph.D., Adjunct Lecturer Complex Networks, Online Learning and Teaching catherine.bliss@uvm.edu
William Jefferys, Ph.D., Adjunct Professor Bayesian Statistics and Decision Theory. william.jefferys@uvm.edu

Jo Ellis-Monaghan, Adjunct Professor

Algebraic combinatorics, graph polynomials, applied graph theory in statistical mechanics, computer chip design, and bioinformatics. jellis-monaghan@smcvt.edu

David Hosmer, Adjunct Professor

Survival analysis, logistic regression, and biostatistics. dhosmer@uvm.edu
Beth Ruskai, Ph.D., Adjunct Professor Mathematical Physics with a particular emphasis
on Quantum Information Theory
Mary-Beth.Ruskai@uvm.edu
Jeffrey Solomon, M.S., Adjunct Lecturer Sampling, Statistical Process Control, Manufacturing Statistics Jeffrey.Solomon@uvm.edu

 

Secondary Appointments

  Name & Title Area of Expertise Email
Peter Callas, Ph.D., Research Associate Professor Cardiovascular Epidemiology, Medical Biostatistics, Telemedicine Programs peter.callas@uvm.edu
  Alan Howard, M.S. Information Technology Specialist Division of Libraries and Learning Resources alan.howard@uvm.edu
Alan Ling Alan Ling, Ph.D., Assistant Professor and Graduate Student Advisor Computer Science

alan.ling@uvm.edu

Kurt Oughstun Kurt Oughstun, Ph.D., Professor Electrical & Computer Engineering kurt.oughstun@uvm.edu
George Pinder George Pinder, Ph.D., Professor Civil & Environmental Engineering, Mathematic methods applied to groundwater hydrology george.pinder@uvm.edu

 

Emeriti

  Name & Title Area of Expertise Email
Taka Ashikaga, Professor Takamaru Ashikaga, Ph.D.
Professor
Program evaluation, longitudinal statistical models, discriminant analysis, pattern recognition Takamaru.Ashikaga@uvm.edu
James Burgmeier James W. Burgmeier, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus Computer Assisted Education, Integral Equations, Numerical Methods james.burgmeier@uvm.edu
Roger Cooke, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus Fourier Analysis, History of Mathematics roger.cooke@uvm.edu
Jeffrey H. Dinitz, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus Combinatorics jeff.dinitz@uvm.edu
David Dummit David S. Dummit, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus Algebra and Number Theory david.dummit@uvm.edu
Richard M. Foote, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus Group Theory and Applications, Algebraic Number Theory richard.foote@uvm.edu
Kenneth Golden Kenneth I. Golden, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus Applied Mathematics, Mathematical Physics kenneth.golden@uvm.edu
Larry D. Haugh Larry D. Haugh, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus Statistical process control and quality improvement; medical biostatistics larry.haugh@uvm.edu
William Lakin William Lakin, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus Applied Mathematics, Modeling, Biomathematics bill.lakin@uvm.edu
Jack Lawlor Jack Lawlor, M.S., Senior Lecturer Emeritus Geometry, complex numbers and their interconnections john.lawlor@uvm.edu
Brian MacPherson, M.S., Lecturer Emeritus Applied probability, statistics education brian.macpherson@uvm.edu
Ruth Mickey, Professor Ruth M. Mickey, Ph.D., Professor Emerita Categorical data analysis, logistic regression, research methods in epidemiology, multi-center studies ruth.mickey@uvm.edu
Holly B. Puterbaugh Holly B. Puterbaugh, M.S., Senior Lecturer Emerita Mathematics education holly.puterbaugh@uvm.edu
Robert Wright Robert Wright, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus Approximation Theory, Computational Linear Algebra bob.wright@uvm.edu