Faculty Awards and Honors

Many of our faculty (including retired faculty) are recipients of very prestigious University awards or professional-society honors. Below, we list some of them. Only faculty with primary appointments in this department are listed.


George Kidder Outstanding Faculty Award

  • Joan Rosi Rosebush 2022
  • Richard Foote 2013
  • Kenneth Gross 1998
  • Roger Cooke 1996

This annual award honors one full-time UVM faculty member for excellence in teaching and extraordinary contributions to the enrichment of campus life.


Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Award 

  • Richard Single, 2023
  • Chris Danforth 2022
  • Catherine Bliss 2017
  • Taras Lakoba 2014
  • Sheila Weaver 2002
  • Larry Kost 2000
  • David Dummit 1999
  • Karla Karstens 1999
  • Joan Rosi Rosebush 1999
  • Helen Read 1993
  • Richard Foote 1990

The Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Awards recognize UVM faculty for excellent instruction. Each year one faculty member in each of the four rank categories (Lecturer/Senior Lecturer/Clinical Instructor, Assistant Professor, Associate Professor, Professor) receives this honor. 

President’s Distinguished Senior Lecturer Award

  • Karen Benway 2022

This annual award honors and recognizes the distinguished accomplishments of faculty who hold the rank of Senior Lecturer and Lecturer for their outstanding teaching, scholarship, and service.



University Scholar

  • Jianke Yang 2017
  • Richard Foote 2011
  • Jeffrey Dinitz 2008
  • Dan Archdeacon 2003
  • Roger Cooke 2000
  • William Lakin 1998
  • Kenneth Gross 1995
  • Kenneth Golden 1992

The University Scholars program recognizes distinguished UVM faculty members for sustained excellence in research, creative and scholarly activities.


University Distinguished Professor

  • Jianke Yang 2021

The University Distinguished Professor Award is the highest academic honor that UVM can bestow upon a member of the faculty. Holders of this title are recognized as not only having achieved international eminence within their respective fields of study but for the truly transformative nature of their contributions to the advancement of knowledge. These faculty members are considered top scholars who have excelled in their disciplines.


Elected Fellows of Professional Societies

  • Jianke Yang, Fellow of Optical Society of America, 2020
  • Kenneth Gross, Fellow of American Mathematical Society, 2012
  • Kenneth Golden, Fellow of American Physical Society, 1991