• fall

Congratulations to the AY2020-2021 Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Award Recipients!

Wolfgang Dostmann, Professor, Pharmacology
Pablo Bose, Associate Professor, Geography
Matthew Scarborough, Assistant Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering
Holly Painter, Lecturer, English

The Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Awards recognize faculty for excellent undergraduate instruction. They memorialize Robert H. and Ruth M. Kroepsch and her parents, Walter C. and Mary L. Maurice. Robert H. Kroepsch served as Registrar and Dean of Administration at UVM from 1946-1956. Ruth graduated from UVM in 1938 and her father, Walter Maurice, graduated from UVM in 1909. All four were teachers. The Kroepsch-Maurice Awards are administered under the authority of the Office of the Provost in support of academic excellence in teaching and learning. Each year one faculty member in each of the four rank categories (Lecturer/Senior Lecturer/Clinical Instructor, Assistant Professor, Associate Professor, Professor) receives this honor.

Areas considered for selection include:

  • Nominees must teach undergraduate courses in order to be eligible
  • Excellence in instruction, including creation of an environment conducive to/encouragement of learning
  • Capacity to animate students and engage them in the pursuit of knowledge, understanding, and application
  • Innovation in teaching methods and/or curriculum development
  • Demonstrated commitment to cultural diversity, inclusive excellence and to Advancing Diversity and Inclusion at UVM
  • Ability to motivate, challenge, and inspire students
  • Adherence to Our Common Ground for lifelong learning:  respect, integrity, innovation, openness, justice, and responsibility

Nominations due May 7 by completing this Online Form.

Process Timeline

- Call for Nominations - April 15, 2021
- Nominations due - May 7, 2021
- Faculty Notifications - Early Fall semester 2021
- Nomination Materials due - October 15, 2021
- Award announcement - Spring semester 2022

Excellence in Teaching: A Discussion with the 2016 Kroepsch-Maurice Award Recipients