Burlington--University of Vermont (UVM) Extension's Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program wants to help limited-income Vermont families eat healthier and be more food secure by inviting them to take part in its free distance learning series, Eat Smart, Move More. 

The self-paced course includes six interactive, online video lessons with tips for planning, shopping and budgeting for healthy meals plus recipe tutorials. Each 30-minute lesson also features daily physical fitness and wellness strategies and simple workout exercises to do at home.

In addition, participants will take part in a live video or phone chat with a UVM Extension nutrition educator after every two lessons, or as needed for support throughout the course. The conversations will be tailored to each family's needs and will allow ample time for questions. 

Anyone who is eligible for SNAP/3SquaresVT, ReachUp, WIC, free or reduced-price school meals or similar programs may participate. To register, or to determine eligibility if not enrolled in one of these programs, contact one of the UVM Extension nutrition educators listed below. Or go to www.uvm.edu/extension/distance-nutrition-education to complete an eligibility survey and register.

 

Nutrition educators and the counties they serve are:

Addison and Washington Counties: Susan Bodette (susan.bodette@uvm.edu)

Bennington, Windham and Windsor Counties: Bonny White (bonny.white@uvm.edu)

Caledonia and Essex Counties: Bernadette Bessette (bernadette.bessette@uvm.edu)

Chittenden, Franklin and Grand Isle Counties: Lori Pinard (lori.pinard@uvm.edu)

Lamoille and Orleans Counties: Katie Black (katie.black@uvm.edu)

Orange and Rutland Counties: Kate Bilinski (kate.bilinski@uvm.edu)

Upon successful completion of the course, participants will receive a certificate of graduation, nutrition reference book with recipes and menus and a strength training band by mail.

If questions, or to request a disability-related accommodation to participate, contact Amy Davidson at (802) 656-2311 or amy.davidson@uvm.edu.

PUBLISHED

09-11-2020
Amy C. Davidson