Core Faculty


Sambit Mohapatra, PT, Ph.D.

Sambit Mohapatra

Associate Professor, Interim Program Director

Areas of Research and/or Expertise

Transcranial magnetic stimulation, screening tools in mild traumatic brain injury, recovery of motor functions post-stroke. View profile >>

Email

Sambit.Mohapatra@med.uvm.edu

Reuben Escorpizo, PT, M.Sc., D.P.T.

Reuben Escorpizo

Clinical Associate Professor, Associate Program Director

Areas of Research and/or Expertise

Understanding and examining disability in spinal cord injury, work rehabilitation and arthritis. View profile >>

Email

Reuben.Escorpizo@med.uvm.edu

Justine Dee, PT, M.S., OCS

Justine Dee

Clinical Associate Professor

Areas of Research and/or Expertise

Treatment of chronic pain, addressing pain and functional loss in the victims of torture and trauma, low back pain, treatment of lymphedema. View profile >>

Email

Justine.Dee@med.uvm.edu

Mathew Failla, PT, Ph.D., SCS

Mathew Failla

Assistant Professor

Areas of Research and/or Expertise

Sports medicine, knee injury prevention and treatment, shoulder injury prevention and treatment. View profile >>

Email

Mathew.Failla@uvm.edu

Rebecca Ouellette-Morton, PT, M.S., D.P.T

Rebecca Ouellette-Morton

Clinical Associate Professor, Associate Director of Clinical Education

Areas of Research and/or Expertise

Essential functions in physical therapy education, clinical education in physical therapy, strategies and functional outcomes for patients with chronic musculoskeletal conditions. View profile >>

Email

Rebecca.Ouellette-Morton@med.uvm.edu

Denise Peters, PT, D.P.T., Ph.D.

Denise Peters

Assistant Professor

Areas of Research and/or Expertise

Neural correlates of motor impairment and recovery post-stroke, gait rehabilitation and neuromechanics, structural neuroimaging. View profile >>

Email

Denise.Peters@med.uvm.edu

Elizabeth Sargent, PT, Sc.D., OCS

Elizabeth Sargent

Clinical Assistant Professor

Areas of Research and/or Expertise

Complex musculoskeletal patient management, kinesiology/biomechanics, pain neuroscience. View profile >>

Email

Elizabeth.Sargent@med.uvm.edu

Paula Smith, PT, M.A.S., D.P.T.

Paula Smith

Clinical Assistant Professor, Director of Clinical Education

Areas of Research and/or Expertise

Analysis of structured clinical education in transition to workplace, service learning to engage student learning in geriatrics, leadership in D.P.T. education. View profile >>

Email

Paula.Smith@med.uvm.edu

Karen C. Westervelt, PT, ATC, NBC-HWC, Ph.D.

Karen Westervelt

Clinical Assistant Professor and Integrative Health Educational Program Director

Areas of Research and/or Expertise

Integrative therapies to decrease student anxiety, classification and treatment of low back pain, orthopedic manual therapy, post-professional physical therapist education, international collaborations in health care, novel mentoring techniques for new clinicians and clinicians in rural settings, Kinesiology, biomechanics, travel study. View profile >>

Email

Karen.Westervelt@med.uvm.edu

Associate Faculty

Tracy Benedict, PT, D.P.T.

Gary Mawe, Ph.D.

Victor May, Ph.D.

Emeriti Faculty

Samuel Feitelberg, PT, M.A., D.Sc., FAPTA

Jean Held, PT, Ed.D.

Sharon Henry, PT, Ph.D., ATC

Mary Moffroid, PT, Ph.D.

Leonie Nelson, PT, M.S., D.P.T.

Deborah O'Rourke, PT, Ph.D.

Brian V. Reed, PT, Ph.D.

Nancy Zimny, PT, M.S.