Our faculty model clinical and research expertise across each of the specialty areas of physical therapy practice while facilitating students' development as movement experts who promote health through exercise.

Justine Dee, PT, M.S., OCS

Justine Dee

Clinical Associate Professor, Interim Doctor of Physical Therapy Program Director

Areas of Research and/or Expertise

Treatment of chronic pain, addressing pain and functional loss in the victims of torture and trauma, low back pain, treatment of lymphedema

Email

Justine.Dee@med.uvm.edu

Reuben Escorpizo, PT, M.Sc., D.P.T.

Reuben Escorpizo

Clinical Associate Professor

Areas of Research and/or Expertise

Understanding and examining disability in spinal cord injury, work rehabilitation and arthritis

Email

Reuben.Escorpizo@med.uvm.edu

Mathew Failla, PT, Ph.D., SCS

Mathew Failla

Assistant Professor

Areas of Research and/or Expertise

Sports medicine, knee injury prevention and treatment, shoulder injury prevention and treatment

Email

Mathew.Failla@uvm.edu

Nancy Gell, PT, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Nancy Gell

Assistant Professor

Areas of Research and/or Expertise

Exercise and physical activity adherence, influence of environment and technology on physical activity behavior, strategies for healthy aging

Email

Nancy.Gell@med.uvm.edu

Sambit Mohapatra, PT, Ph.D.

Sambit Mohapatra

Assistant Professor

Areas of Research and/or Expertise

Transcranial magnetic stimulation, screening tools in mild traumatic brain injury, recovery of motor functions post-stroke

Email

Sambit.Mohapatra@med.uvm.edu

Rebecca Ouellette-Morton, PT, M.S., D.P.T

Rebecca Ouellette-Morton

Clinical Assistant Professor, Associate Director of Clinical Education

Areas of Research and/or Expertise

Essential functions in physical therapy education, clinical education in physical therapy, strategies and functional outcomes for patients with chronic musculoskeletal conditions

Email

Rebecca.Ouellette-Morton@med.uvm.edu

Denise Peters, PT, D.P.T., Ph.D.

Denise Peters

Assistant Professor

Areas of Research and/or Expertise

Neural correlates of motor impairment and recovery post-stroke, gait rehabilitation and neuromechanics, structural neuroimaging

Email

Denise.Peters@med.uvm.edu

Elizabeth Sargent, PT, Sc.D., OCS

Elizabeth Sargent

Clinical Assistant Professor

Areas of Research and/or Expertise

Complex musculoskeletal patient management, kinesiology/biomechanics, pain neuroscience

Email

Elizabeth.Sargent@med.uvm.edu

Paula Smith, PT, M.A.S., D.P.T.

Paula Smith

Clinical Assistant Professor, Director of Clinical Education

Areas of Research and/or Expertise

Analysis of structured clinical education in transition to workplace, service learning to engage student learning in geriatrics, leadership in D.P.T. education

Email

Paula.Smith@med.uvm.edu

Karen C. Westervelt, PT, ATC, NBC-HWC, Ph.D.

Karen Westervelt

Clinical Assistant Professor and Integrative Health Educational Program Director

Areas of Research and/or Expertise

Integrative therapies to decrease student anxiety, classification and treatment of low back pain, orthopedic manual therapy, post-professional physical therapist education, international collaborations in health care, novel mentoring techniques for new clinicians and clinicians in rural settings, Kinesiology, biomechanics, travel study

Email

Karen.Westervelt@med.uvm.edu

Michelle L. Yargeau, PT, D.P.T., CWS

Michelle L. Yargeau

Clinical Assistant Professor, Director of Clinical Education

Areas of Research and/or Expertise

Wound care/pressure management, neurologic disorders and function/balance

Email

Michelle.Kunsman@med.uvm.edu

Associate Faculty

Tracy Benedict, PT, D.P.T.

Gary Mawe, Ph.D.

Victor May, Ph.D.

Emeriti Faculty

Samuel Feitelberg, PT, M.A., D.Sc., FAPTA

Jean Held, PT, Ed.D.

Sharon Henry, PT, Ph.D., ATC

Mary Moffroid, PT, Ph.D.

Leonie Nelson, PT, M.S., D.P.T.

Deborah O'Rourke, PT, Ph.D.

Brian V. Reed, PT, Ph.D.

Nancy Zimny, PT, M.S.