Disk Quotas

Disk quotas on Bluemoon and DeepGreen are defined by the level of support the principal investigator (PI) is providing to the VACC, in other words, the PI’s tier.

“Block” is the total size of your group’s disk storage. “Files” is the total number of files allowed to be written to disk. Soft vs. hard limits are explained farther down this page.

 

TIER FILESYSTEM BLOCK
Soft Limit / Hard Limit
FILES
Soft Limit / Hard Limit
1 gpfs1 2TB / 4TB 1M / 1.5M
1 gpfs2 4TB / 8TB 1.5M / 3M
2 gpfs1 8TB / 13TB 3M / 6M
2 gpfs2 15TB / 25TB 4M / 8M
3 gpfs1 20TB / 25TB 6M / 12M
3 gpfs2 35TB / 45TB 8M / 16M

Filesystems

  • gpfs1 is periodically backed up. It is where users’ home directories are stored.
  • gpfs2 is “scratch space” and is NOT BACKED UP. If you accidentally delete or overwrite a file on gpfs2, or if the filesystem encounters a catastrophic failure, you will lose the data. gpfs2 is a good place to put job temporary output or data that can easily be regenerated or re-downloaded.

Limits

What Your Usage Includes

All members of a PI-group share the group’s quota. A “PI-group” includes the PI and any sponsored users under that account. (If you have no sponsored users, the PI-group is just you.)

How to See Your Usage

To see the current usage of your PI-group, use the command groupquota.

Check Your Group Quota Often

Check your group quota every time you go on the cluster to see if you are close to exceeding your soft limit.

Soft vs. Hard Limits

If you look at the table above, you will see two types of limits:  soft and hard.

  • Soft limits are the amount of resources you are allocated based on your tier and the filesystem you are using.
  • Hard limits are the buffer of resources we allow you because we understand that sometimes resources are unintentionally exceeded.
  • You have a grace period of 7 days to reduce your usage of resources back to your soft limit.

For example, if you unintentionally exceed the soft limit of resources allocated to your tier/filesystem, your work will not be terminated and deleted for 7 days (the grace period). However, once the grace period of 7 days expires, your work will be terminated and files will be deleted to the soft limit you are allocated based on your tier/filesystem.

Updated on February 4, 2021

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles