University of Vermont

Office of the President

Graduate College Announces 2016-2017 University Scholars

University Scholars 2016-17

The University Scholars program at the University of Vermont recognizes distinguished UVM faculty members for sustained excellence in research, creative, and scholarly activities.   Each year, two scholars in the social sciences, humanities, and creative arts, and two scholars in basic and applied science are chosen by a faculty panel.

The Graduate College is pleased to announce the 2016-17 University Scholars, and you are invited to join us at their induction ceremony on Tuesday, April 26th at 4pm in Waterman Memorial Lounge.

Social Sciences, Humanities, and Creative Arts

Robert V. Bartlett, PhD

Robert V. Bartlett holds the Gund Chair of the Liberal Arts in the Political Science Department at the University of Vermont and he is the chair of the Political Science Department.  He received his BA (with distinction, Phi Beta Kappa) in 1974, an MPA in 1976, and the Ph.D. in 1984, all from Indiana University. His previous institutions include Purdue University, Boise State University, Texas Tech University, and Indiana University.  He has twice been a Senior Fulbright Scholar (Lincoln University and University of Canterbury, New Zealand, and Trinity College, Ireland).  In 2007 he was Distinguished Fulbright Chair of Environmental Policies at the Turin Polytechnic Institute and University in Italy.  He teaches courses in environmental politics and policy, including U.S. Environmental Politics, Comparative Environmental Politics, International Environmental Governance, and Earth Systems Governance.  He has published many research articles and ten books, most recently (with Walter F. Baber) Consensus and Global Environmental Governance: Deliberative Democracy in Nature’s Regime, The MIT Press, 2015.

Robert Pepperman Taylor, PhD

Bob Pepperman Taylor received his B.A. from Wesleyan University (CT) and his Ph.D. from Rutgers University. He joined the University of Vermont Department of Political Science in 1986. He teaches courses in political theory and the history of political thought, and his scholarship focuses on American political thought. His publications include six books, the most recent of which is The Rutledge Guidebook to Thoreau’s “Civil Disobedience.” He is currently completing work on a new edition of Thoreau’s Civil Disobedience with supporting historical documents (Broadview Press). His awards include the University of Vermont Kroepsch-Maurice Teaching Award, a National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowship, and the 2016 UVM George V. Kidder Outstanding Faculty Award.


Basic and Applied Sciences

Ira M. Bernstein, MD 

Ira M. Bernstein is Professor and John Van Sicklen Maeck Chair of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences and medical director of Women’s Health Care Services at the University of Vermont Medical Center. He graduated magna cum laude from Union College with a degree in Psychobiology (1978) and is an Alpha Omega Alpha medical honor society graduate from the University of Vermont College of Medicine (1983). He has served as director of maternal fetal medicine (MFM) and MFM fellowship training as well as senior associate dean for research at the college of medicine. Dr. Bernstein’s primary research interest is the investigation of human integrative physiology and its pathophysiologic variations during the course of pregnancy.  Dr. Bernstein was recognized with the Distinguished Academic Achievement Award from the UVM College of Medicine in 2002 and has received research awards from the New England Perinatal Society, the Society for Maternal Fetal Medicine and the Society for Reproductive Investigation. He currently serves on the medical advisory board for the Preeclampsia Foundation and is a member of the Executive Board of the Vermont Oxford Neonatal Network.

Jason H. T. Bates, PhD

Jason H.T. Bates is a professor in the Department of Medicine with a joint appointment in the Department of Molecular Physiology & Biophysics, and from 2010 to 2014 he served as the interim director of the UVM School of Engineering.  Dr. Bates obtained his PhD in physics from the University of Canterbury in New Zealand in 1978 and his Ph.D. from the Department of Medicine at the University of Otago in New Zealand in 1981. He was awarded the doctor of science degree by the University of Canterbury in 1994 for his contributions to the field of lung mechanics. Dr. Bates spent the early part of his career at McGill University where he rose to the rank of full professor of medicine and biomedical engineering before coming to UVM in 1999. His research focusses mostly on the mechanical behavior of the lung in health and disease, for which he performs both laboratory experimentation and computational modeling. Dr. Bates is an elected a Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering and a senior member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers. He is also the deputy editor of the Journal of Applied Physiology. Dr. Bates has published over 260 peer-reviewed journal papers as well as 22 book chapters and a single author book entitled “Lung Mechanics. An Inverse Modeling Approach” published in 2009 by Cambridge University Press. He is also the inventor of the Flexivent ventilator that is used worldwide in the study of mouse models of lung disease.