Honorary Appointments | Office of the President | The University of Vermont(title)

Honorary appointments are made by the president of the university in recognition of outstanding contributions in education, research, public service, and other areas of importance to UVM’s mission, vision, and strategic plan.

Appointees engage with the UVM community and through their wealth of experience provide special insight and perspective for students, faculty and staff.

Patrick J. Leahy, President’s Distinguished Fellow

Appointed 2023

As President’s Distinguished Fellow, Senator Leahy contributes to UVM’s mission as an advisor to students and faculty members, a guest lecturer in classes and at public events, and a conduit between the university and organizations and communities in all corners of the state.

More information about Sen. Leahy

Julia Phillips, President’s Distinguished Scholar

Appointed 2019

Julia Phillips is a highly accomplished and renowned physicist who has held top leadership positions at national laboratories and scientific organizations.

More information about Julia Phillips