UVM Green and University Row

The Executive Committee of the Graduate College represents the breadth of professional leadership and diverse perspectives on the University’s graduate endeavor from both graduate faculty and students.  The voting members of the Executive Committee consist of the Dean and the Associate and Assistant Dean(s) of the Graduate College, Research and Scholarship-based or Practitioner-based members of the Graduate Faculty, and graduate students.

Duties of the Executive Committee include the following:

  • Review, evaluate, and make recommendations to the Dean of the Graduate College concerning proposals for the creation, modification, or termination of graduate degree and certificate programs. 
  • Confer on the establishment and alteration of policies relating to graduate study and bring recommendations for action to the Graduate Faculty. 
  • Monitor the assessment and evaluation of graduate and post-bac professional education throughout the university, including by requesting and reviewing periodic reports on the current status of all graduate degree and certificate programs (e.g., enrollment, program ranking, graduate outcomes, specialized accreditation) and, as necessary, to conduct its own review of such programs. 
  • Periodically advise the Dean of the Graduate College on the appropriate portfolios and balance of discipline-based and interdisciplinary graduate and post-bac professional degree and certificate programs being offered by the University as a whole, as well as on national and global trends in graduate education. 
  • On a regular basis, report its actions to the Graduate Faculty. Any action of the Executive Committee may, upon appeal by a motion introduced at a meeting of the Graduate Faculty, be referred to the Faculty for final decision.


In Spring 2024, the Graduate Executive Committee, its subcommittees and ad hoc committees will meet on the following Thursdays, from 1:30-3:00pm.

Spring Term 2024

Executive Committee

  • January 11
  • February 15
  • March 14
  • April 18
  • May 9
  • June 6

Subcommittees, ad hoc committees

  • February 1
  • February 29
  • March 21
  • April 4
  • May 2

Members can access meeting materials via the SharePoint site at this link (password needed).

Graduate Executive Committee

Dean, Graduate College (Chair)Hoock, HolgerN/A
Associate Dean, Graduate CollegeEbert, AliciaN/A
College of Agriculture and Life SciencesWang, Qingbin2021-2024
College of Arts and SciencesLiptak, Matthew2021-2024
College of Arts and SciencesFenton, Elizabeth2023-2024
College of Engineering and Mathematical SciencesGhazanfari, Ehsan2023-2026
College of Engineering and Mathematical SciencesMarshall, Jeffrey2023-2026
College of Education and Social ServicesCallahan, Rebecca2023-2026
College of Nursing and Health SciencesGell, Nancy2023-2024
Larner College of MedicineWargo, Matthew2022-2025
Larner College of MedicinePrevis, Michael2023-2026
Grossman School of BusinessLowensohn, Suzanne2023-2024
Rubenstein School of Environment and Natural ResourcesDonovan, Therese (Terri)2021-2024

Graduate Student RepresentativesNameTerm
College of Agriculture and Life SciencesNnadi, SandraSpring 2024, AY25
College of Arts and SciencesKhadka, SumanSpring 2024, Fall 2024
College of Engineering and Mathematical SciencesUl Haq, ljazAY24
College of Education and Student ServicesSimone, CaraSpring 2024, AY25
College of Nursing and Health SciencesEkstrom Grenon, KatieSpring 2024, AY25
Graduate College (Cross-Collegiate Graduate Programs)N.N. 
Larner College of MedicineApore, RichmondSpring 2024
Grossman School of BusinessN.N. 
Rubenstein School of Environment and Natural ResourcesNix, MandySpring 2024 to Fall 2025

ex officio member (non-voting)Name
University RegistrarCarter, Veronica

Recording SecretaryName
 Pietricola, Erica