Our Chairperson

Kimberly Vannest, Ph.D.
Professor, Department Chair

Kimberly Vannest

Welcome to UVM's nationally accredited Department of Education, one of the nation’s premier PreK-12 teacher education programs. Our innovative and rigorous curriculum, nationally prominent faculty, and research-based instructional practices distinguish our teacher education programs.

All of our programs are committed to diversity, inclusive education, culturally responsive instruction, extensive and carefully sequenced field-based experiences in public schools, and service-learning. We offer eight undergraduate and five graduate programs in teacher education, curriculum and instruction, and special education. In addition, our undergraduate teacher education programs offer a dual-endorsement pathway to licensure in general education and either special education or education for cultural and linguistic diversity.

We invite you to explore our program offerings, get to know our faculty and students, and learn more about our high-quality coursework, field-based curriculum, and innovative research.

View our Research in Education Brochure

Meet Our Faculty

Click on a name to visit their faculty profile.

Ellen Baker
Lecturer
Ellen.Baker@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: ELEMENTARY EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Academic achievement; Assessment and evaluation; Curriculum and instruction

Tracy Ballysingh
Assistant Professor
Tracy.Ballysingh@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: HIGHER EDUCATION AND STUDENT AFFAIRS ADMINISTRATION
Areas of Expertise: P-16 access/equity; First-generation college students; Socio-cultural and historic contexts of education

Kelly Mancini Becker
Lecturer
Kelly.Becker@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: ELEMENTARY EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Curriculum and Instruction; Fine Arts and Education; Research Methods; School Transformation; Teacher Education

Penny Bishop
Professor
Penny.Bishop@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: MIDDLE LEVEL EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Middle Level Education; Early adolescence; Personalized learning

Bradley Brown
Lecturer
Bradley.Brown@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: American Sign Language

Tricia Brown
Lecturer
Tricia.Stokes@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: MIDDLE LEVEL EDUATION
Areas of Expertise: Curriculum and Instruction; Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM); Teacher Education; Technology and Learning; Universal Design

Holly-Lynn Busier
Senior Lecturer
Holly-Lynn.Busier@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: EDUCATIONAL LEADERSHIP AND POLICY STUDIES
Areas of Expertise: Epistemology; Disability studies, intersectionality and social justice issues; Social, historical, and philosophical foundations of education

Kelly Clark/Keefe
Associate Professor (kclarkke@uvm.edu)
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: EDUCATIONAL LEADERSHIP AND POLICY STUDIES
Areas of Expertise: Feminist, critical and arts-based qualitative methodologies; Body studies in educational contexts; Epistemic injustice

Katherine Cowles
Lecturer
Katherine.Cowles@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFLIATION: EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Teacher education / curriculum and instruction; Critical pedagogy; Children’s participatory rights / civic engagement

Lia Cravedi
Senior Lecturer
Lia.Cravedi@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: SECONDARY EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Academic Achievement; Collaboration; Disability and Inclusion; Special Education; Teacher Education

Bryan Dague
Research Assistant Professor
Bryan.Dague@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: CENTER ON DISABILITY AND COMMUNITY INCLUSION
Areas of Expertise: Disability Studies; Rehabilitation Counseling; Sheltered Workshop Conversation

Jessica DeMink-Carthew
Assistant Professor
jdeminkc@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: MIDDLE LEVEL EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Curriculum and instruction; Multiculturalism; Reading education and literacy; Social justice; Teacher education

Jillian Donnelly
Lecturer
Jillian.Donnelly@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: AMERICAN SIGN LANGUAGE
Areas of Expertise: American Sign Language

Bernice Garnett
Adam and Abigail Burack Green and Gold Associate Professor
bernice.garnett@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Bullying prevention; Community and social systems; Diversity, access, and equity; Public health; Restorative justice

Jason Garvey
Associate Professor
jcgarvey@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATON: HIGHER EDUCATION AND STUDENT AFFAIRS ADMINISTRATION
Areas of Expertise: Campus and classroom climate; LGBTQ collegians; Survey design and quantitative methods

Justin Garwood
Assistant Professor
Justin.Garwood@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: SPECIAL EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Classroom management; Emotional and behavioral disorders; Research methods

Michael Giangreco
Professor
Michael.Giangreco@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: SPECIAL EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Special Education

Shana Haines
Associate Professor
shana.haines@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: SPECIAL EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Family, school, and community partnership; Teacher preparation; Inclusive practices; Cultural and linguistic minority populations.

Juliet Halladay
Associate Professor
Juliet.Halladay@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: ELEMENTARY EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: English Language Learners; Learning and cognition; Reading education and literacy; Response to Intervention (RTI); Teacher education

Brett Holt
Associate Professor
Brett.Holt@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Physical Education; Teacher Education

Deborah Hunter
Associate Professor
Deborah.Hunter@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: HIGHER EDUCATION AND STUDENT AFFAIRS ADMINISTRATION
Areas of Expertise: Educational policy; Higher education; Student affairs

Jennifer Jo Hurley
Associate Professor
Jennifer.Hurley@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: EARLY CHILDHOOD SPECIAL EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Early intervention; Early childhood special education; Cultural and linguistic diversity; Homelessness and poverty

Sean Hurley
Associate Professor
Sean.Hurley@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: EDUCATIONAL LEADERSHIP AND POLICY STUDIES
Areas of Expertise: Adult learning; Assessment and evaluation; Early childhood; Educational policy

Simon Jorgenson
Associate Professor
Simon.Jorgenson@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: ELEMENTARY EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Curriculum and Instruction; Educational Policy; History, Philosophy, Sociology of Education; Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM)

Colby Kervick
Assistant Professor
Colby.Kervick@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: SPECIAL EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Family-centered collaborative practice; Dual certification teacher preparation; Restorative practices implementation

Kieran Killeen
Associate Professor
Associate Dean for Graduate and Non-Degree Programming
Kieran.Killeen@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: EDUCATIONAL LEADERSHIP AND POLICY STUDIES
Areas of Expertise: Educational Finance; Educational Policy; Leadership; Research Methods; Rural Studies; Student Mobility

Tammy Kolbe
Associate Professor
Tammy.Kolbe@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: EDUCATIONAL LEADERSHIP AND POLICY STUDIES
Areas of Expertise: Assessment and Evaluation; Educational Finance; Educational Policy; Higher Education; Special Education

Nicholas Lalanne
Lecturer
Nicholas.Lalanne@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: AMERICAN SIGN LANGUAGE
Areas of expertise: American Sign Language

Cindy Leonard
Lecturer
Cindy.Leonard@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: ELEMENTARY EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Reading Education and Literacy; Social Justice

Winnie Looby
Lecturer
Winnie.Looby@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: CENTER ON DISABILITY AND COMMUNITY INCLUSION
Areas of expertise: Interdisciplinary collaboration; Disability studies; Early childhood special education

Lauren MacKillop
Senior Lecturer
Lauren.MacKillop@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Early Childhood Education, Special Education

Lori Meyer
Associate Professor
Lori.Meyer@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Curriculum and Instruction; Disability and Inclusion; Early Childhood; Special Education

Robert Nash
Professor
Robert.Nash@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: INTERDISCIPLINARY STUDIES
Areas of Expertise: Scholarly personal narrative

Maureen Neumann
Professor
Maureen.Neumann@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: ELEMENTARY EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Curriculum and Instruction; Gender studies; Leadership; Literacy and Numeracy; Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM)

Maureen Nevers
Research Associate
Maureen.D.Nevers@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: CENTER ON DISABILITY AND COMMUNITY INCLUSION
Areas of Expertise: Disability and Inclusion

Kaitlin Northey
Assistant Professor
Kaitlin.Northey@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Early education policy; Leadership in early childhood; Early childhood workforce

Glenn Patterson
Lecturer
Glenn.Patterson@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

John Pirone
Lecturer
John.Pirone@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: AMERICAN SIGN LANGUAGE
Areas of Expertise: Disability and inclusion; Diversity, access, and equity; Social justice

Jennifer Prue
Senior Lecturer
Jennifer.Prue@uvm.edu)
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: SECONDARY EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Adolescent development; Psychology; Teacher education

Kenneth Reissig
Lecturer
Kenneth.Reissig@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: MIDDLE LEVEL EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Adolescent Development; Curriculum and Instruction; Learning and Cognition; Teacher Education; Technology and Learning

Cynthia Reyes
Associate Professor
Cynthia.Reyes@uvm.edu)
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: MIDDLE LEVEL EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Educational Policy; English Language Learners; Immigrant and Refugee Populations; Social Justice; Technology and Learning

Sherry Schoenberg
Associate Professor
Sherry.Schoenberg@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: CENTER ON DISABILITY AND COMMUNITY INCLUSION
Areas of Expertise: Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports

Katharine Shepherd
Levitt Family Green and Gold Professor
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Research
Katharine.Shepherd@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: SPECIAL EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Special Education; Families of children and adults with disabilities; Collaboration and teaming

Carmen Petrick Smith
Associate Professor
Carmen.Smith@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: SECONDARY EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Learning and Cognition; Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM); Teacher Education; Technology and Learning

Jennifer Stratton
Lecturer
Jennifer.Stratton@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: SPECIAL EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: School age special education; family and child centered program design and implementation; Assessment and planning related to challenging behaviors

Jessica Strolin-Goltzman
Professor
Jessica.Strolin@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Child and family welfare; Trauma and resilience; Addictions/substance abuse; Organizational development; Implementation research; Research methods; Social work practice

Jesse Suter
Research Associate Professor
Jesse.Suter@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: CENTER ON DISABILITY AND COMMUNITY INCLUSTION
Areas of Expertise: Assessment and Evaluation; Collaboration; Community and Social Systems; Disability and Inclusion; Mental Health; Psychology; Research Methods; Special Education

Regina Toolin
Associate Professor
Regina.Toolin@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: SECONDARY EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Science education; Teacher professional learning; Project-based learning

Susan Torncello
Lecturer
Susan.Torncello@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Early Childhood; Teacher Education

Leon Walls
Associate Professor
Leon.Walls@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: ELEMENTARY EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Curriculum and instruction; Multiculturalism; Race and racism; Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM); Teacher education

Valerie Wood
Research Assistant Professor
Valerie.Wood@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: CENTER FOR DISABILITY AND COMMUNITY INCLUSION
Areas of Expertise: Program evaluation; Systems change and integration; Positive youth development

Haley Woodside-Jiron
Associate Professor
Haley.Woodside-Jiron@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: READING AND LANGUAGE
Areas of Expertise: Neuroscience of education; Trauma informed instruction; Resilience

Emeritus Faculty

Judith A. Aiken
Associate Professor Emeritus
Judith.Aiken@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: EDUCATIONAL LEADERSHIP & POLICY STUDIES
Areas of Expertise: Inclusive excellence; Ethical leadership; Leadership preparation

Charles Rathbone
Associate Professor Emeritus
Charles.Rathbone@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: ELEMENTARY EDUCATION

George Salembier
Associate Professor Emeritus
George.Salembier@uvm.edu
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: SPECIAL EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Assessment and Evaluation; Collaboration; Disability and inclusion; Diversity, access, and equity; Response to Intervention (RTI); Special education; Teacher education




Our Staff

Michele Guyette
Michele.Guyette@uvm.edu
(802) 656-0481
Assistant to the Chairperson and the Director of Teacher Education

Karen Orr
Karen Orr
Karen.Orr@uvm.edu
(802) 656-1410
Program support for Curriculum and Instruction; work-study supervisor (Karen Orr is a 10-month staff, so please be in touch with Michele.Guyette@uvm.edu if needed during the summer months).

Roman Vogel
Roman Vogel
Roman.Vogel@uvm.edu
(802) 656-2936
Administration and support of all CESS graduate programs


Erin Wertlieb
Erin.Wertlieb@uvm.edu
(802) 656-1411
Program support for Middle Level and Secondary Education