Message from our Chair

Kimberly Vannest, Ph.D. - Professor and Department Chair

Kimberly VannestWelcome! As one of the nation’s premier PreK-12 teacher education insitutions, the Department of Education provides nationally accredited undergraduate and graduate programs distinguished by innovative and rigorous curriculum, nationally prominent faculty, and research-based instructional practices. 

All of our programs are committed to diversity, inclusive education, culturally responsive instruction, extensive and carefully sequenced field-based experiences, and community-engaged learning. We offer programs in teacher education, curriculum and instruction, educational leadership and policy studies, education for sustainability, and special education. Our undergraduate teacher education programs offer a dual-endorsement pathways for licensure in general education and either special education, education for cultural and linguistic diversity, or computer science education.

We invite you to get to know our faculty and students, explore our program offerings, and learn more about our high-quality coursework, field-based curriculum, and innovative research.

Meet Our Faculty

Faculty Profiles: Our Research, Teaching & Service

Emeriti Faculty

Our Staff

Patrick Halladay
Director of Educator Licensure

Malik Mines
Educator preparation programs support

Julia Stein
Assistant to the Chair, Department of Education

Roman Vogel
(802) 656-2936
Graduate programs administration