The Department awarded its first annual Thomas Patterson Awards honoring Emeritus Senior Lecturer Thom Patterson to Faculty and Undergraduate Teaching Assistants

In front of a crowded Memorial Hall in UVM's Waterman Building, CDAE Chair Jane Kolodinsky granted a suite of awards celebrating the achievements of students and faculty members in the department.

The CDAE Department, in collaboration with the UVM Foundation and Tom’s family, also awarded its first of the Tom Patterson Faculty Award permanent faculty award in honor Tom’s tireless service and his devotion to teaching. 

Tom retired from the faculty at UVM in 2013, after teaching here for 40 years. Tom retired after battling an early form of Dementia for a few years, which limited his ability to keep doing what he loved the most – teaching and mentoring.  

This award is a fitting tribute to Tom who was often recognized for his innovative and outstanding teaching.  For those of us who know Tom, we know that Tom believed in and supported all of his students. Tom was an advising wizard and helped countless students navigate their four years. Tom also saw the value of applied skills like public speaking and technology long before anyone else and made it the bedrock of his teaching for decades.  

Fittingly, Dr. Jonathan Leonard, one of Tom's dearest friends, colleagues, conspirators, and supporters was given this award.  Dr. Leonard is a paragon of the type of faculty member to receive this award and to continue to build upon the legacy that Tom made while at UVM.

In Recognition of Academic Excellence

Community and International Development
Madison Dell
Claire Madden
Olivia Percoco
Paul Witte

Community Entrepreneurship
Brad Day
Lexie Merguerian
Zachary Santarsiero

Public Communication
Sarah Bloom
Katie Coffey
Jackie Collins
Micole Molly Duffy-Protentis
Gabryella Procaccini
Olivia Quackenbush
Alicia Spangenberger
Jennifer Whitman
Audrey Williams 

Facultly Prize for Recognizing Student Excellence

CID: Olivia Percoco
CENT: Brad Day
PCOM: Kathleen Shiman

Tom Patterson Prize for Undergraduate Teaching Assistantship

Simone Bailey
Henry Currell

Engaged Scholar Award

Lexie Merguerian

Distinguished Undergraduate Research and Honors Theses

Jacqueline Collins: The effectiveness of the Implementation of Drug Courts on the Opioid Epidemic in the State of Vermont.  
Research Mentor: Janet Murnane, J.D. 

Rachel Heath: Inclusion of Mobile Home Parks in Vermont Emergency Planning 
Research Mentor: Daniel Baker, Ph.D.

Claire Madden: Water as a Common Resource: Economic Institutions for Water Management on a Finite Planet
Research Mentor: Joshua Farley, Ph.D.

Madison Dell
Research Mentor: Thomas DeSisto, M.S. 



Daniel John Kirk