University of Vermont

Center for Research on Vermont

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Center recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the state of Vermont with our annual Lifetime Achievement Awards. Recipients are researchers, government leaders, community leaders, teachers, artists, historians who have had enduring, significant, and positive influences on the state, including our culture, civic life, research and educational institutions, and the daily lives of Vermonters.

CRVT Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients: 2002 - present

Community Research Fellow

The Center for Research on Vermont's mission is to encourage and promote Vermont research and connect researchers and students with applied researchers. To meet this mission the Center is supporting Vermont Community Research Fellows. Community Research Fellows receive Center support, preference for student research assistance, and access to University resources in return for collaborating and connecting with students, faculty and staff.

Rolling deadline -- applications reviewed as submitted. Contact Richard Watts.

Frank M. Bryan Research Award

The Frank M. Bryan Vermont Scholar Summer Research Award provides $5,000 in summer salary to faculty and independent scholars conducting Vermont research. The award is named in honor of Professor Frank Bryan (who retired in 2013) -- an internationally recognized scholar who devoted much of his career to studying democracy with Vermont as the laboratory. A founding member of the Center for Research on Vermont, Dr. Bryan is a trustee of the Vermont Historical Society and the recipient of the Center’s Lifetime Achievement Award (2013).

Frank M. Bryan Award Guidelines

Frank M. Bryan Award Recipients: 2014 - Present

DEADLINE for summer 2018, January 15, 2018

Student Paper Research Awards ($100)

The Nuquist Award is a statewide competition to encourage excellence in undergraduate research on Vermont topics. Named in memory of UVM Political Science Professor Andrew E. Nuquist and cosponsored by Vermont Life Magazine, this award is offered annually for a project exemplifying outstanding undergraduate treatment of a Vermont theme. In 1997, the Center inaugurated an award in memory of George B. Bryan (1939–1996), Professor of Theatre and former Director of the Center for Research on Vermont, for excellence in student research on Vermont as exemplified in a one-semester course project. Selected winners receive $100.

Student Research Awards Guidelines

Bryan Award Recipients: 1997- present

Nuquist Award Recipients: 1982 - present

For 2017-2018 papers; May 2, 2018

Green Mountain Student Summer Scholar Award

The Green Mountain Student Summer Research Award Provides funding to one Vermont undergraduate student engaged with a Vermont researcher on a Vermont research project.

Submissions to the Office of Undergraduate research. Check deadlines at their website or contact Ann Kroll Lerner.

Last modified May 24 2017 12:02 PM