Core Faculty

Eyal Amiel, Ph.D.

Eyal Amiel, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Medical Laboratory Science

Areas of Research and/or Expertise

Dendritic cell biology, immune cell metabolism, cell signaling networks

Email

Eyal.Amiel@med.uvm.edu

Paula Deming, Ph.D., MT (ASCP)

Paula Deming, Ph.D., MT (ASCP)

Endowed Professor of Health Sciences, Professor of Medical Laboratory Science, Department Chair, MLS Graduate Program Director

Areas of Research and/or Expertise

Cell signaling, growth control pathways, molecular pathology, cancer biology

Email

Paula.Deming@med.uvm.edu

Seth Frietze, Ph.D.

Seth Frietze, Ph.D.

Seth Frietze, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Medical Laboratory Science

Areas of Research and/or Expertise

Regulation of gene expression, chromatin structure and epigenetics, transcriptomics of vertebrate development and evolution, metagenomics and molecular diagnostics

Email

Seth.Frietze@med.uvm.edu

Mark Fung, M.D., Ph.D.

Mark Fung

Medical Director, Medical Laboratory Science

Areas of Expertise and/or Research

Transfusion medicine, human leukocyte antigens platelet compatibility, regional and national transfusion practices, blood donor motivation, transfusion outcomes

Email

Mark.Fung@uvmhealth.org

Dimitry Krementsov, Ph.D.

Dimitry Krementsov, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Medical Laboratory Science

Areas of Expertise and/or Research

Autoimmunity, microbiome, neuroimmunology, sex differences, multiple sclerosis, gene-by-environment interactions, virology, inflammatory bowel disease

Email

Dimitry.Krementsov@uvm.edu

Katrina (Kate) Moreau, M.A.T., MLS (ASCP)

Katrina (Kate) Moreau, M.A.T., MLS (ASCP)

Clinical Assistant Professor, Medical Laboratory Science, Undergraduate Program Director

Areas of Expertise and/or Research

Clinical practicums and preceptor education, service learning, point of care, quality improvement

Email

Katrina.Moreau@med.uvm.edu

Melissa Scheiber, Ph.D.

Melissa Scheiber

Clinical Assistant Professor, Medical Laboratory Science

Areas of Expertise and/or Research

Cellular and molecular mechanisms of endocrine disrupting chemicals in cancer development and progression, zebrafish as a model for studying breast cancer.

Email

melissa.scheiber@med.uvm.edu