Staff

Profile Name & Homepage Area of Expertise Email

Penni French
Academic Office Coordinator

  Mary.French@uvm.edu

 

Primary Appointments

Profile Name & Homepage Area of Expertise Email

Josh Bongard
Associate Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Evolutionary robotics, evolutionary computation, physical simulation josh.bongard@uvm.edu
DaraisFixed

David Darais
Assistant Professor
(January '18)
Graduate Student Advisor

Software Reliability, Program Analysis, Mechanized Verification, Computer-checkable Proofs, Functional Programming, Language-based Security, Type Systems

David.Darais@uvm.edu

Lisa Dion
Lecturer

C++, Python, Java and Git lisa.dion@uvm.edu
JimEddyFixed

James Eddy
Lecturer

Cybersecurity and cryptography, embedded systems programming, and computer organization/architecture James.Eddy@uvm.edu

Margaret (Maggie) Eppstein
Chair
Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Complex systems modeling and analysis, including evolutionary and agent-based computing, artificial neural networks, complex networks, etc., with applications in a variety of biological, physical, technological, and social domains maggie.eppstein@uvm.edu

Robert Erickson
Senior Lecturer

Education in Computer Science, Online Learning, Web development robert.erickson@uvm.edu
laurentfixed

Laurent H├ębert-Dufresne
Assistant Professor
(January '18)
Graduate Student Advisor

Complex Networks, Dynamics of Contagion, Network Comparison

Laurent.Hebert-Dufresne@uvm.edu

Jackie Horton
Senior Lecturer

Python & Java jackie.horton@uvm.edu

Byung S. Lee
Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Database. Data mining, data stream, query processing, event processing byung.lee@uvm.edu

Alan Ling
Associate Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Combinatorial design theory, coding theory, sequence designs, design theory, statistical design of experiments alan.ling@uvm.edu

Alison Pechenick
Senior Lecturer

Scientific Computation with MATLAB alison.pechenick@uvm.edu

Christian Skalka
Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
Associate Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Design of programming languages, especially type disciplines, to support security and safety in programs; information systems combining embedded and mobile devices with machine learning data analysis, in diverse applications including snow hydrology and psychological sciences christian.skalka@uvm.edu

Alicia (Pippin) Wolfe
Lecturer

Artificial Intelligence known as Reinforcement Learning alicia.wolfe@uvm.edu
WalshFixed

Safwan Wshah
Assistant Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Machine Learning, Image & Video Processing, Deep Learning, Pattern Recognition, Computer Vision, Document Imaging & Digital Signal Processing

Safwan.Wshah@uvm.edu

 

Secondary Appointments

Profile Name & Homepage Area of Expertise Email

James Bagrow
Assistant Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Complex Systems and Complex Networks james.bagrow@uvm.edu
Brian Beckage

Brian Beckage
Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Biocomplexity, computational models of ecosystems, population and community dynamics, effects of disturbances and climate change on biodiversity Brian.Beckage@uvm.edu

Chris Danforth
Associate Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Chaos, Mathematical Modeling, Computational Methods, Numerical Weather Prediction, Complex Systems, Computational Social Science chris.danforth@uvm.edu

Jeffrey Dinitz
Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Computational and algebraic methods for determining the structure and existence of combinatiorial configurations, such as designs and graphs jeffrey.dinitz@uvm.edu

Peter Sheridan Dodds
Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Complex systems and networks, contagion, sociotechnical phenomena, happiness, stories peter.dodds@uvm.edu

Paul Hines
Associate Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Electrical energy systems, cascading failure in power systems, complex networks and vulnerability, optimization, energy policy paul.hines@uvm.edu

Dawei Li
Assistant Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Human genetics and genome research for disease gene identification dawei.li@uvm.edu

Kurt Oughstun
Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Electromagnetic and optical field theory, ultrawideband dispersive pulse propagation, linear and nonlinear optics, applied mathematics kurt.oughstun@uvm.edu

George Pinder
Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Mathematic methods applied to groundwater hydrology george.pinder@uvm.edu

Michael Radermacher
Associate Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Three-dimensional (3D) Reconstruction of Single Particles from Electron Micrographs Michael.Radermacher@uvm.edu

Donna Rizzo
Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Development of new computational tools, including artificial neural networks, to improve the understanding of human induced changes on natural systems and the way we make decisions about natural resources donna.rizzo@uvm.edu

Jun Yu
Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Mathematical modeling, asymptotic and numerical analysis of differential equations, hydrodynamic stability, perturbation theory, biomedical mathematics jun.yu@uvm.edu

Asim Zia
Assistant Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Computational Policy Analysis, Decision Analysis, Complex Systems (in particular Agent Based Modeling, System Dynamic Modeling, Bayesian Network Modeling) asim.zia@uvm.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty

  Name & Title Education Contact

John Cohn
Adjunct Professor

Ph.D., Carnegie Mellon University

johncohn@us.ibm.com

 

Emeritus

  Name & Title Education Email
Jeanne Douglas

Jeanne Douglas
Senior Lecturer Emeritus

M.S., University of Vermont

Jeanne.Douglas@uvm.edu