Founded in 1924 by two public health graduate students Dr. Claude W. Mitchell and Dr. Edgar Erskine Hume, Delta Omega is the nationally recognized honor society for public health students. Established at a time when public health was practiced in the field, Drs. Mitchell and Hume sought to focus on bringing attention to the organized study of public health at the graduate level. Each year our UVM Larner College of Medicine chapter, the Epsilon Omicron chapter, is proud to induct select students who demonstrate outstanding achievement in the study of public health.

For 2024, the following students have been inducted into Delta Omega:

Ahmed Alrai
Meghan Bethel
Alexia Bove
Heidi Considine
Brian Gomez
Fatisha Moteso
Emma Parks
Julia Pencek
Elizabeth Rowell
Noel Riby-Williams
Julia Sarrasin
Abigale Savoie
James Sullivan
Madeline Taubkin
Libby Tuttle
Laura Whitley
Pallas Ziporyn

The following students were inducted into Delta Omega in 2023:

Melanie Meyer
Katherine Rampone
Katie Vieira de Moraes LaCasse

In addition to our student inductees, our chapter would like to honor two important faculty members who have contributed enormously to the success of the public health program. Our 2024 Delta Omega faculty inductees are Dr. Thomas Delaney, PhD and Dr. Langdon Lawrence, MD, MPH.

Dr. Langdon Lawrence holds an Assistant Professor appointment in the Larner College of Medicine Department of Medicine and is a part-time faculty member with the Division of Public Health. Dr. Lawrence’s work in environmental health has been a particular asset to our program, and his course in Climate Change Emergencies is one of our most popular electives. Contributing in many ways beyond the virtual classroom, Dr. Lawrence is a champion of public health education. Congratulations, Dr. Lawrence!

Dr. Tom Delaney holds an Associate Professor appointment in the Department of Pediatrics and is a full-time faculty member with the Larner College of Medicine Division of Public Health. As the lead faculty member of the Culminating Project Experience, Dr. Delaney guides the important capstone research process for MPH students.  As the founder of our Omicron Epsilon chapter, Dr. Delaney has been instrumental in establishing the committees, guidelines, and procedures for recognition of student excellence. Congratulations, Dr. Delaney!

Dr. Mark Levine

Each year, the Omicron Epsilon chapter has the privilege to make one honorary induction to Delta Omega. This induction is reserved for an individual who makes significant contributions to public health out in the field. This year, our chapter would like to recognize the efforts of Dr. Mark Levine, MD. Before assuming the position of Vermont State Health Commissioner in 2017, Dr. Levine’s primary appointment was as a Professor of Medicine and Associate Dean for Medical Education at the Larner College of Medicine. He continued to keep those positions as he accepted the role in the state health department. Dr. Levine deftly shepherded the state through one of the worst health crises of our time, the COVID-19 pandemic, working with various stakeholders to keep Vermonters safe and healthy. Thank you, Dr. Levine!

Delta Omega logo

Delta Omega Induction criteria:

Interested students must demonstrate:

Written expression of commitment to the practice of public health

Cumulative GPA of 3.3 or above

Graduation in May of deciding term

Recommendation of a faculty member

Ready to Get Started?

Contact Us Today!

We’re here to answer any questions you may have about public health.