GSS presidents and provost and president UVM Interim Provost and Senior Vice President Patty Prelock and her husband Billy interacting with GSS 2018-2019 President Joey Campbell (left) and 2019-2020 Jessica Bocanegra (right) and GSS Presidents with President Tom Sullivan. (Photo: Joseph Hanko)


GSS places representatives on numerous university-wide governance boards, including the Board of Trustees and Faculty Senate Committees. We also establish committees internally to allow groups of senators to focus their attention and action on specific issues that concern graduate students, such as the Housing Committee, Student Assistanship Support Committee, and many others

Graduate Student Senate Committees

Finance Committee

Oversees the finances of GSS and processes applications for Graduate College Mini Grants. Comprised of the GSS Treasurer and two senators.
Members: Yasaman Pedari (Chair), Anthony (Tony) Barrows, Ali Dadkhah, Alison Hall, Vanessa Ballard


Student Affairs Committee

Responsible for documenting and providing guidance for grievances and concerns affecting graduate students that are submitted to the Graduate Student Senate.
Members: Ijaz Ul Haq (Chair), Joy Emmanuel, Stephen Marshall, Emily McDonnell, Gift Omoruyi, Richard Witting, Carlos Amissah, Justin Dempsey, Mona Davoudimehr


Housing Committee

To advocate for reliable, affordable, and family-friendly housing that meets the needs of graduate students and aligns with the needs of the greater Burlington community.
Members: Ritwik Bandyopadhyay (Chair), Daniel Peipert, Shashank Poudel, Stephen Marshall, Toyib Aremu, Taylor Kocian, Diego Javier-Jimenez, Parisa Suchdev, Pawan Babu Bastola, Carlos Amissah, Justin Dempsey, Matthew Breunig

Stipends Committee

Works with administration and graduate students on graduate student stipends, compensation and benefits.
Members: Ritwik Bandyopadhyay (Chair), Taylor Kocian, Diego Javier-Jimenez, Johnbosco Osuagwu, Bren Cable, Shashank Poudel, Daniel Peipert, Emma Myrick

Events Committee

Promotes networking and organizes events for the graduate student community. 
Members: Bren Cable (Chair), Niara Hicks, Alison Hall, Vanessa Ballard, Ashley Tubens, Richard Witting


Professional Development Committee

Organizes research and professional development workshops for graduate students.
Members:  Parisa Suchdev (Chair), Mona Davoudimehr, Toyib Aremu, Ali Dadkhah, Johnbosco Osuagwu, Anthony (Tony) Barrows, Joy Emmanuel, Muhammad Adil, Muhammad Adeel Arif.

Health and Wellness Committee

Member: Gift Omoruyi (Chair), Emma Myrick, Vanessa Ballard, Muhammad Adeel Arif, Niara Hicks, Emily McDonnell, Pawan Babu Bastola, Muhammad Adil

Diversity Equity Inclusion and Accessibility Committee

Members: Gift Omoruyi, Muhammad Adeel Arif, Pawan Babu Bastola, Emma Myrick, Vanessa Ballard, Emily McDonnell, Muhammad Adil, Niara Hicks.


Board of Trustees Committees

Audit Committee

Responsible for monitoring the quality and integrity of the University’s financial statements.


Budget, Finance, & Investment Committee

Oversees the development and review of strategic institutional financial plans and objectives as well as the formation and approval of UVM's budget.


Educational Policy & Institutional Resources Committee

Oversees the development and status of programmatic and resource use plans and related plan objectives.


Faculty Senate Committees

Curricular Affairs Committee

Responsible long-range planning of majors, minors, and other academic standards for undergraduate and graduate students.


Educational & Research Technologies Committee

Responsible for the development and implementation of educational and research technologies and the review of related policies and procedures.


Financial & Physical Planning Committee

Responsible of physical resources for the institution and issues related to the formulation of the University Budget.


Research, Scholarship & Creative Arts Committee

Responsible for research, scholarly work, and the creative arts at the University. Serves as a liaison between the Faculty Senate and the administration of support of research and the creative arts and advancing knowledge and communication.


Student Affairs Committee

Responsible for issues related to student affairs, effects on the educational process, and academic climate of the University.


Administrative Committees

Our Common Ground Committee

Recommends members of the UVM community to the President for Our Common Ground Award.


Traffic Board of Appeals

Reviews appeals from students, faculty, staff, and visitors who have received parking tickets and/or have been towed for violations of the UVM parking rules and regulations.

Campus Master Plan Advisory Committee

Advises the university administration in developing a Campus Master Plan the that provides a flexible framework that can accommodate changes in attitudes about campus environments, new technologies and revised institutional requirements.

UVM Transportation & Parking Services Advisory Committee (TAPSAC)

Responsible for the management of both the Campus Area Transportation System (CATS) and the University parking programs.

Socially Responsible Investing Advisory Council

Makes recommendations to the Vice President for Finance and Treasurer on sustainability investment at the University of Vermont, including positive investments of operating cash reserves and the Clean Energy Fund.


Student Research Conference Committee

Organizes the annual spring Student Research Conference that showcases graduate and undergraduate research.


Student Trustee Search Committee

Responsible for selecting a student representative (undergraduate, graduate, or medical) to sit on the Board of Trustees. The selected Student Trustee is a full voting member of the Board.


Executive Committee

Between the meetings of the Board of Trustee, this committee shall have all the powers of the board in management of the property and affairs of the University


IBB Steering Committee

UVM's Incentive-Based Budgeting (IBB) model went live in FY16. The IBB Steering Committee continues to meet to assess the model’s performance and impact. Metrics associated with the model are reviewed annually. The next major review of the model will occur in FY24, with the implementation of IBB Model 3.0 in FY25.


Honorary Degree Advisory Committee

Has the responsibility of selecting the honorary degree recipient for that year’s commencement.