• Three
  • Four
  • Two

The University Diversity Council (UDC) was created in Spring 2021 in response to recommendations from the UVM community that a larger cohort of individuals with responsibilities for implementing actions within units would help to facilitate positive movement in addressing our goals for diversity, equity and inclusion. UDC has broad and diverse representation from academic and administrative units across campus. The Council functions in an advisory role to Dr. Amer F. Ahmed, the Vice Provost for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, on university wide issues that affect all members of our community.

The UDC intentionally and actively engages all campus units in support of meaningful advancements related to diversity, equity and inclusion while ensuring greater accountability across our community. The Council provides advice and support to senior leadership on the recruitment and retention of a diverse faculty, staff and students, advises faculty leadership on the implementation of the undergraduate general education requirement for diversity, and participates in the analysis of metrics to monitor progress on the climate and culture at the university. Additionally, Council members serve as liaisons to their academic or administrative units to help disseminate best practices, advance cultural competency and civility, and to effectuate initiatives and programs in fulfillment of the Inclusive Excellence Action Plans.

UDC Representatives

Reporting UnitRepresentative
Division of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Amer Ahmed
Paul Suk-Hyun Yoon
Sherwood Smith
Enterprise Technology Services 
Claire Dickey
Roxy Bombardier
Lawrence Houston
College of Nursing and Health Sciences
Susan Kasser
Noah Barclay-Derman
Office of Strategic Communications
Barbara Walls
Jeanne Nauheimer
Division of Student Affairs
Joe Russell
Elliot Ruggles
Division of Finance and Administration
Nick Stanton
Rebecca Myer
Division for Operations and Public Safety
Sergeant Melanie Waldbrise
College of Arts and Sciences
Erika Lala
Graduate College
Allison Spain
Gary Atwood
Kate Bright
Division of Enrollment Management
Jennifer Fath
Joey Catania
Honors College
Scott Clark
Vivien Enriquez
Rubenstein School of Environmental and Natural Resources
Marie Vea
Alayana Howard
Larner College of Medicine
Tiffany Delaney
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Rachel Leslie
Jane Molofsky
College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences
Bree Mathon
KC Williams
Jessica Drummond
Adrian Dubois
Grossman School of Business
Joanne Pencak
Angela Erdmann
College of Education and Social Services
Lynn White Cloud
Tiffanie Spencer
Jesse Suter
Office of Institutional Research
Alex Yin
Larry Long
Professional and Continuing Education
Maggie Lambert
Jessica Akey
Alex Messinger
Faculty Affairs
Jane Okech
Susanmarie Harrington
Academic Affairs and Student Success
Emma Swift
Sarah Heath
Office of the Vice President for Research
Deb McAdoo
Jessica Waite


2022-2023 Council Meetings

Thursday, August 25, 2022
12:00pm – 4:30pm

Wednesday, September 14, 2022
10:00am - 12:00pm

Tuesday, October 11, 2022
10:30am – 12:00pm

Wednesday, November 9, 2022

10:00am – 11:30am

Tuesday, December 13, 2022

10:30am – 12:00pm

Wednesday, January 11, 2023
10:00am – 11:30am

Tuesday, February 14, 2023
10:30am – 12:00pm

Wednesday, March 2, 2023
10:00am – 11:30am

Tuesday, April 11, 2023
10:30am – 12:00pm

Tuesday, May 10, 2023
10:00am – 11:30am