Each spring, the College of Nursing and Health Sciences acknowledges outstanding scholarship, leadership, and service by students, faculty, and staff with special honors. Following are this year's honorees:

Dean’s Awards

  • Dean's Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award for demonstrated exemplary professional growth and contributions: Christol Long '21 and Taylor Murray ‘20
  • Dean's Outstanding Graduate Student Award for demonstrated exemplary professional growth and contributions: Emma O’Brien '20
  • Dean's Inclusive Excellence Award for contributions to create an environment of social justice, inclusion, and equity: Juan Florencia, Academic Advisor and Enrollment Management Specialist
  • Dean's Faculty Innovation in Teaching Award for teaching that engages students in an experiential manner, develops their reflective thinking, and is responsive to CNHS strategic goals for integrating clinical simulation, internationalization, interprofessional education, and integrative health: Karen Westervelt, clinical assistant professor and Integrative Health educational program director

Department of Biomedical and Health Sciences Awards

  • Chair's Award given to a third-year student who has made significant contributions to the department, college, and university; has served as a positive role model for peers; and been actively engaged in extracurricular and service activities: Taylor Murray '20
  • Scholastic Achievement in Medical Laboratory Science Award given by the UVM Medical Center’s Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine to the senior student(s) with the highest grade point average in the Medical Laboratory Science program: Kylie Curtis '20 and Brianna Pierce '20
  • F.W. Van Buskirk Award for the highest grade point average in the Medical Radiation Sciences-Radiation Therapy program: Ciera Medeiros '20
  • Lachapelle Award recognizing an outstanding junior medical laboratory science student for excellence in scholarship, extracurricular involvement, and commitment to cultural diversity: Sierra Coolbeth '21 and Shay Pouliot '21
  • Clinical Achievement in Radiation Therapy Award for outstanding qualities of professional attitude and cooperation in the patient care setting: Ciera Medeiros '20

Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders Awards

  • Eleanor M. Luse Graduate Student Award for impressive demonstration of academic achievement, clinical service, and professionalism: Sophia Chamberlain '20
  • Promise Award for greatest potential in research and or clinical work: Cameron Bilardello '21 and Emma Daly '21
  • Margaret Kyte Memorial Award for outstanding academic performance: Hannah Sheehy '20
  • Vermont Speech-Language-Hearing Association Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award for strong academic performance and outstanding promise for professional achievement: Kathryn Fagan '20
  • Communication Sciences and Disorders Award for Excellence for demonstrated excellence in scholarship, leadership, and professional promise: Grace Murphy '20

Department of Nursing Awards

  • Vermont State Nurses' Association Clinical Excellence Undergraduate Award for demonstrated outstanding clinical practice: Samantha Raymond '20
  • American Nurses Association Award for Clinical Excellence Graduate Award for demonstrated outstanding clinical practice: Jacqueline Bray '20
  • Clarissa Peters Allen Nursing Award for demonstrated conscientious, motivated character: Kelsey White '20
  • Faye Crabbe Award for excellent scholarship, nursing ability, and service to the university: Lorean Galarza '20
  • University of Vermont Medical Center Award for Innovation in Clinical Practice (undergraduate student) for demonstrated excellence in practice in any setting; communication with patients, families, and colleagues; collaboration; and professional appearance and demeanor: Xavier Giddings '20
  • University of Vermont Medical Center Award for Excellence in Clinical Nursing Practice (graduate student) for demonstrated innovation in practice and breakthrough initiative in patient care or patient education, or care coordination across the continuum: Kiersten Wulff '20
  • Visiting Nurse Association Ann K. Twitchell Community Health Services Award for scholarship and excellence in community health services: Lia Guthrie '20

Department of Rehabilitation and Movement Science Awards

  • Athletic Training Leadership Award for scholarly excellence in the classroom in addition to consistently displaying exceptional leadership during clinical experience assignments, in student government, and in the community: Timothy Faulkner '20
  • Rebecca Ryan Future Professional Award for high expectations and respect for self and others, caring nature, sense of responsibility, strong work ethic, confidence, flexibility, and constructive communication skills: Brian Powell '20
  • Professional Growth Award in Athletic Training for exceptional growth in the prevention, recognition, treatment, and rehabilitation of athletic injuries, and remarkable potential as a dedicated and responsible future professional: Anne Dimaio '20
  • Isola Braun Award for the greatest demonstrated potential for development of professional competency and leadership: Jeremiah Crawford '20
  • Margaret B. Corbin Award for demonstrated high-quality academic and clinical performance throughout the professional curriculum: Kaleigh Mulpeter '20
  • Outstanding Student in Exercise Science Award for demonstrated passion for learning, academic excellence, and significant engagement in courses and co-curricular activities: Megan MacFarlane '20
  • Outstanding Future Professional in Exercise Science for acting as a positive role model with the leadership qualities and professional potential to significantly impact the field of exercise science: JB Bickers '20

Latin Honors

Summa Cum Laude

  • Alana P. Barretto
  • Maeve Grainne Higgins
  • Sophie Lia John
  • Megan Daniele Macfarlane
  • Hannah Stewart Sheehy

Magna Cum Laude

  • Kylie D. Curtis
  • Nicole A. Murray
  • Brianna L. Pierce
  • Isabella B. Sierra

Cum Laude

  • Jessica L. Audy
  • Clara J. Behrman
  • Joshua Cameron
  • Anna Nicklin Garbolski
  • Hayley R. Hancock
  • Emily A. Hayden
  • Petra Christine Jackson
  • Chani R. Krech
  • Hannah Abigail Lichy
  • Alyssa Jane McGillicuddy
  • Grace E. Murphy
  • Benjamin Joseph Prandini
  • Samantha Ann Raymond
  • Marina Natalie Rubin

Honors College Graduates

  • Clara J. Behrman
  • Deirdre Charles
  • Jessica L. Hartman
  • Maeve Grainne Higgins
  • Sophia Lia John
  • Hannah Steward Sheehy
  • Isabella B. Sierra

Mortar Board Members

  • Alana Barretto
  • Brianna Pierce

College Banner Bearer

The Class of 2020 banner bearer is Ciera Medeiros.


Nursing Health Sciences