English Department faculty and staff looking at camera for group photo

 

 



Associate Professor and Director of the Film and Television Program
Deborah Ellis

Area of Expertise: Film & Video Production, Documentary Film History and Production, Film Festivals
Deborah.Ellis@uvm.edu

David Jenemann looking off camera, salt and pepper cropped hair, blue button down, holing a baseball in his right hand and wearing a baseball glove on his left hand, a pile of more baseball gloves to his left.Associate Professor
David Jenemann

Area of Expertise: Film and Television, Critical Theory, Modernism, Twentieth Century Literature
                                         David.Jenemann@uvm.edu

Professor
Todd McGowan

Area of Expertise: Hegel, psychoanalysis, and existentialism.
Todd.McGowan@uvm.edu

Professor
Hilary Neroni

Area of Expertise: Film and media theory, Representations of gender and race, Violence in film and on television, Women directors, Documentary film/video, Feminist theory, Psychoanalytic cultural theory and Marxism.
                                          Hilary.Neroni@uvm.edu

Associate Professor
Sarah Nilsen

Area of Expertise: Walt Disney, the popular culture of the Cold War, and cultural diplomacy.
Sarah.Nilsen@uvm.edu

Associate Professor
Hyon Joo Yoo

Area of Expertise: East Asian Cinema, Postcolonial Studies, Gender Studies, psychoanalysis, Marxism, Globalization and Media.
hmurphre@uvm.edu

 

Affiliated Faculty

Assistant Professor, Department of Art and Art History
Madsen Minax

Area of Expertise: time-based media, films, video, sound works, and other interdisciplinary visual projects.
Madsen.Minax@uvm.edu

Associate Professor, Department of Theatre, Director of Speech and Debate Program
Helen Morgan-Parmett

Area of Expertise:Critical media studies; media geography; television studies; production studies; media and identity.
                                          Helen.Morgan-Parmett@uvm.edu

Assistant Professor, Department of German and Russian
Bridget Swanson

Area of Expertise: German cinema, curricular design, contemporary film culture, and adaptation studies.
Bridget.Swanson@uvm.edu





The Film and Television Program is housed in the English department.

This directory lists all faculty and affiliated faculty who contribute to the Film and Television Program. To see the full English Department faculty visit our Faculty Directory.

 

Department Chair 

Chair of the English Department
Professor John Gennari

John.Gennari@uvm.edu
(802) 656-4040
Professor Gennari's Faculty Profile

 

FTS Program Director

Film and Television Program Director
Professor Deb Ellis
Deborah.Ellis@uvm.edu
Professor Ellis' Faculty Profile

 

Undergraduate Advising Director

Please email English.Dept@uvm.edu

 

Administrative Staff

Administrative Coordinator
Holly Brevent

Holly.Brevent@uvm.edu

Administrative Assistant
Beth Wilbur

Beth.Wilbur@uvm.edu

Administrative Assistant
Lynn Cawthon

Lynn.Cawthon@uvm.edu

 

 

The English department administrative office is currently closed.  When we reopen on 8/1/202 it will be open from 8:00am to 4:30pm, Monday through Friday with limited access. To best get in touch with us please Email us.


Email: English@uvm.edu
Phone: (802) 656-3056