English Department faculty and staff looking at camera for group photo


Associate Professor Deborah Ellis
Area of Expertise: Film & Video Production, Documentary Film History and Production, Film Festivals

Associate Professor
David Jenemann

Area of Expertise: Film and Television, Critical Theory, Modernism, Twentieth Century Literature

Lecturer of English, Daae Jung
Area of Expertise and Research: psychoanalysis, critical theory, Marxism, film theory, and contemporary American literature.
Daae Jung (email)

Todd McGowan

Area of Expertise: Hegel, psychoanalysis, and existentialism.

Hilary Neroni

Area of Expertise: Film and media theory, Representations of gender and race, Violence in film and on television, Women directors, Documentary film/video, Feminist theory, Psychoanalytic cultural theory and Marxism.

Associate Professor
Sarah Nilsen

Area of Expertise: Walt Disney, the popular culture of the Cold War, and cultural diplomacy.

Associate Professor and Director of Film and Television Studies
Hyon Joo Yoo

Area of Expertise: East Asian Cinema, Postcolonial Studies, Gender Studies, psychoanalysis, Marxism, Globalization and Media.


Affiliated Faculty


Assistant Professor, Department of Art and Art History
Madsen Minax

Area of Expertise: time-based media, films, video, sound works, and other interdisciplinary visual projects.


Associate Professor, Department of Theatre, Director of Speech and Debate Program
Helen Morgan-Parmett

Area of Expertise:Critical media studies; media geography; television studies; production studies; media and identity.

Assistant Professor, Department of German and Russian
Area of Expertise: German cinema, curricular design, contemporary film culture, and adaptation studies.

The Film and Television Program is housed in the English department.

This directory lists all faculty and affiliated faculty who contribute to the Film and Television Program. To see the full English Department faculty visit our Faculty Directory.


Department Chair 

Chair of the English Department
Professor John Gennari

(802) 656-4040
Professor Gennari's Faculty Profile


FTS Program Director

Film and Television Program Director
Professor Hyon Joo Yoo
Associate Professor Hyon Joo Yoo's Profile

Undergraduate Advising Director

Please email English.Dept@uvm.edu


Administrative Staff

Administrative Coordinator
Holly Brevent


Administrative Assistant
Beth Wilbur


Administrative Assistant
Lynn Cawthon




The English department is open from 8:00am to 4:30pm, Monday through Friday with limited access. To best get in touch with us please Email us.

Email: English@uvm.edu
Phone: (802) 656-3056