Office of Community-Engaged Learning (CELO)
109 Harris-Millis Commons
67 Spear St.
Burlington, VT 05405

Phone: (802) 656-0095


Susan Munkres, PhD

Director, CELO
Phone: (802) 656-3853

Contact Susan Munkres for inquiries related to faculty development & course designation.

A sociologist by training, Dr. Munkres has been with the CELO Office since 2012, and has served as Director since January of 2013. Susan works primarily with faculty and community partners to develop pedagogically rigorous and reciprocal experiences that benefit both UVM students and community partners.

Tom Wilson, M.Ed.

Program Coordinator, CELO
Phone: (802) 656-3883

Contact Tom Wilson for inquiries related to student programs, in-class workshops, and SLTAs

Tom works as CELO Program Coordinator at UVM, where he also earned his Master's degree in Education. Originally from the Pacific Northwest, he has worked with a number of local schools, farms, and non-profit organizations in his adopted home of Vermont.  Tom has explored in and out of the classroom with students of all ages, including in Japan, Cambodia, Colombia and Costa Rica, and is a longtime board member for the youth-serving organization DREAM. He has led high school community-engaged learning programs to Central Appalachia, New England and the Desert Southwest. Tom spends his time cultivating vegetable and perennial gardens; hiking, biking, kayaking or otherwise playing outside; experimenting in the kitchen; and seeking adventure and new food while travelling. He lives with his wife and two young daughters in Addison County.

Kaitlyn Carroll

Administrative Assistant, CELO

Kaitlyn joined CELO in 2023. She has a background in educational media, making virtual study tools and explainer videos. Outside of this, her interests span from childhood development to conservation, having worked with local daycares as well as the VYCC. She brings these varied experiences to her position at UVM, helping to support the Office of Community Engaged Learning in its day to day operations.

Advisory Committee 

  • Nicole Conroy, Human Development & Family Sciences / CESS
  • Thomas DeSisto, Community Development & Applied Economics / CALS
  • Shana Haines, Teacher Education & Special Ed / CESS
  • Deb Hinchey, Biomedical & Health Sciences / CNHS
  • John Lens, Civil & Environmental Engineering / CEMS
  • Rachael Montesano, Romance Languages & Literatures / CAS
  • Sophia Trigg, Arts and Sciences Dean's Office / CAS
  • Katie Revelle, Education / CESS
  • Zac Ispa-Landa, RESNR