This award is given annually to a senior psychology major who has demonstrated outstanding scholarship in all courses in Art and Sciences as well as achievement in independent research and scholarship. This awardee has among the highest Grade Point Averages of psychology majors and has completed notable scholarly projects in or out of the classroom. The award is named for Donald G. Forgays, who was Professor of Psychology at UVM from 1964 until his death in 1993. Department Chair Forgays guided the expansion of the department and the establishment of its doctoral program, which is now internationally known.


This award is given annually by the Board of Trustees of the Vermont Conference on the Primary Prevention of Psychopathology to a senior psychology major who has demonstrated exemplary interest, competence, and originality in subject matter and course work related to the topic of prevention of psychopathology. This award is named for George W. Albee, who was Professor of Psychology at UVM from 1971 to 1992. A former President of the American Psychological Association and internationally known scholar, Albee was among the most notable pioneers of the primary prevention movement in Psychology around the world.


This award is given annually to a senior psychology major who has conducted outstanding research or scholarship with a humanistic element. This award is named for Heinz L. Ansbacher, who was Professor of Psychology at UVM from 1946-1963. Ansbacher is considered among the leading early followers of the Adlerian school of thought. In collaboration with his wife, Rowena Ansbacher, their major contribution, The Individual Psychology of Alfred Adler (1954), is still the definitive text on Individual Psychology and remains in print today. Today, this award honors an outstanding senior whose interests and applied work promote the positive development of individuals in social and community contexts.


This award is given annually to two seniors (one of whom must be a psychology major) who have conducted outstanding independent research in psychology while maintaining high scholastic standards overall.  This award is named for John Dewey, an 1879 alumnus of UVM who pursued a career in education, philosophy, and psychology, and was a noted educator and philosopher. Often known as "the father of progressive education," a movement that flourished in the early 20th century and that continues to influence modern educators, Dewey believed that experience was the best way for students to learn how to create the conditions for democracy, solve social problems and engage in moral decision-making. Undergraduate independent research is such a tool.


The Ruth Boelsen Baird Award was established in 1998 by Ruth Boelsen Baird to recognize deserving students in the Psychological Science and History Departments. Ruth Boelsen Baird graduated from UVM in 1942 with a double major in History and Psychology. The award is an expression of her high regard for UVM and her belief in helping those in need, especially in the area of education. An annual award is given to the Psychological Science major (a separate annual award is given to a History major) with the greatest financial need, and the strongest academic record as measured by cumulative grade point average.


Students who have a GPA of at least 3.4 are eligible to apply for permission to undertake an honors research project during their senior year. Additional information is available in the Dean's office.