Our Department takes pride in its reputation for great teaching, cutting-edge research, and the personal attention we give our students. Eight of our faculty have won university awards for excellence in teaching, and several members of our department are recipients of the prestigious University Scholar award.

Graduate Student instructors can be found in the Graduate Student directory.

 

Full Time Faculty

  Name & Title Area of Expertise Email
Taka Ashikaga, Professor Takamaru Ashikaga, Ph.D.
Professor
Program evaluation, longitudinal statistical models, discriminant analysis, pattern recognition tashikag@uvm.edu
James Bagrow, Ph.D., Assistant Professor Complex Networks, Statistical Physics, Optimization jbagrow@uvm.edu
Kevin Beard Kevin Beard, M.B.A., Lecturer Statistics education kevin.beard@uvm.edu
Bentil Daniel Bentil, Ph.D., Associate Professor Applied Mathematics, Modeling, Biomathematics daniel.bentil@uvm.edu
Karen Benway Karen Benway, M.S., Lecturer Statistics education karen.benway@uvm.edu
Catherine Bliss Catherine Bliss, Ph.D., Lecturer Complex networks, online learning and teaching catherine.bliss@uvm.edu
Janice Bunn, Research Assistant Professor Janice Bunn, Ph.D., Research Associate Professor Medical Biostatistics janice.bunn@uvm.edu
Jeffrey Buzas Jeffrey S. Buzas, Ph.D., Professor, Chairperson, Director of Statistics Measurement error models, instrumental variables jeff.buzas@uvm.edu
nichole caisse Nichole Caisse, M.S., Lecturer Applied mathematics, area of interest is Mathematical Biology, and mathematics education ncaisse@uvm.edu
Peter Callas, Research Associate Professor Peter Callas, Ph.D., Research Associate Professor Cardiovascular epidemiology, medical biostatistics, telemedicine programs peter.callas@uvm.edu
Chip Cole, Professor Bernard (Chip) Cole, Ph.D., Professor Cancer biostatistics, longitudinal data analysis, clinical trials, chemoprevention studies bernard.cole@uvm.edu
Abigail Crocker Abigail Crocker, Ph.D., Research Assistant Professor Children's health, health care policy, applied statistics abigail.crocker@uvm.edu
Christopher Danforth, Associate Professor Christopher Danforth, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Math Graduate Program Director Chaos, Mathematical Modeling, Computational Methods, Complex Systems and Applied Mathematics chris.danforth@uvm.edu
Jeffrey Dinitz Jeffrey H. Dinitz, Ph.D., Professor Combinatorics jeff.dinitz@uvm.edu
Peter Sheridan Peter Dodds, Ph.D., Professor Applied mathematics, complex systems and networks, contagion, modeling. peter.dodds@uvm.edu
François Dorais, Ph.D., Lecturer Mathematical logic fdorais@uvm.edu
Taylor Dupuy Taylor Dupuy, Ph.D., Research Associate Arithmetic geometry, differential algebra, and applied model theory taylor.dupuy@uvm.edu
Erika Edwards Erika Edwards, Ph.D., Research Assistant Professor Epidemiology; Applied biostatistics erika.edwards@uvm.edu
Richard Foote Richard M. Foote, Ph.D., Professor Group theory and applications, algebraic number theory richard.foote@uvm.edu
Tony Julianelle Tony Julianelle, Ph.D., Senior Lecturer Mathematics education, complex manifolds ajuliane@uvm.edu
Karla Karstens Karla Karstens, M.S., Senior Lecturer Mathematics education karla.karstens@uvm.edu
Vincent Koehler Vincent Koehler, M.S., Senior Lecturer Mathematics education vincent.koehler@uvm.edu
Joseph Kudrle Joseph Kudrle, M.S., Senior Lecturer Mathematics education joseph.kudrle@uvm.edu
Judi Laird Judi Laird, VMI Lecturer Mathematics education judi.laird@uvm.edu
Taras Lakoba, Assistant Professor Taras I. Lakoba, Ph.D., Associate Professor Perturbation theory, Nonlinear waves, Fiber optics taras.lakoba@uvm.edu
Jacob Martin, Ph.D., Lecturer Statistics Jacob.W.Martin@uvm.edu
Katherine Merrill Katherine Merrill, M.S., Senior Lecturer Statistics and Mathematics Education

katherine.merrill@uvm.edu

Ruth Mickey, Professor Ruth M. Mickey, Ph.D., Professor, Stat Graduate Program Director Categorical data analysis, logistic regression, research methods in epidemiology, multi-center studies ruth.mickey@uvm.edu
Susan Ojala

Susan Ojala, VMI Lecturer

Mathematics education susan.ojala@uvm.edu
Helen Read Helen P. Read, M.S., Senior Lecturer Computer technology in mathematics instruction helen.read@uvm.edu
Joan Rosebush Joan Rosebush, M.Ed., Senior Lecturer Mathematics education joan.rosebush@uvm.edu
Jonathan Sands, Professor Jonathan W. Sands, Ph.D., Professor Algebraic Number Theory jonathan.sands@uvm.edu
Richard Single Richard Single, Ph.D., Associate Professor Biostatistics richard.single@uvm.edu
Mun Son, Professor Mun S. Son, Ph.D., Professor Time series and related topics such as bootstrapping methodology; autoregressive processes; transfer function analysis mun.son@uvm.edu
Christelle Vincent Christelle Vincent, Ph.D., Assistant Professor Number Theory and Arithmetic Geometry christelle.vincent@uvm.edu
Greg Warrington Gregory Warrington, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Associate Chairperson Combinatorics gswarrin@uvm.edu
Sheila Weaver Sheila O. Weaver, M.S., Senior Lecturer Statistics education sheila.weaver@uvm.edu
J. Michael Wilson, Professor J. Michael Wilson, Ph.D., Professor Fourier Analysis mike.wilson@uvm.edu
Jianke Yang Jianke Yang, Ph.D., Professor Non-linear waves and their applications jianke.yang@uvm.edu
Jun Yu Jun Yu, Ph.D., Professor Applied Mathematics, Modeling, Biomathematics jun.yu@uvm.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty

  Name & Title Area of Expertise Email
William Jefferys William Jefferys, Ph.D., Adjunct Professor Bayesian statistics and decision theory. william.jefferys@uvm.edu
Jeffrey Solomon Jeffrey Solomon, Adjunct Lecturer   jeffrey.s.solomon@uvm.edu

 

Secondary Appointments

  Name & Title Area of Expertise Email
 Alan Howard Alan Howard, M.S. Division of Libraries and Learning Resources alan.howard@uvm.edu
Alan Ling Alan Ling, Ph.D., Assistant Professor Computer Science

alan.ling@uvm.edu

Kurt Oughstun Kurt Oughstun, Ph.D., Professor Electrical & Computer Engineering kurt.oughstun@uvm.edu
George Pinder George Pinder, Ph.D., Professor Civil & Environmental Engineering george.pinder@uvm.edu

 

Emeriti

  Name & Title Area of Expertise Email
James Burgmeier James W. Burgmeier, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus Computer Assisted Education, Integral Equations, Numerical Methods james.burgmeier@uvm.edu
Roger Cooke Roger Cooke, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus Fourier Analysis, History of Mathematics roger.cooke@uvm.edu
David Dummit David S. Dummit, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus Algebra and Number Theory david.dummit@uvm.edu
Kenneth Golden Kenneth I. Golden, Ph.D., Professor Applied Mathematics, Mathematical Physics kenneth.golden@uvm.edu
Kenneth Gross Kenneth I. Gross, Ph.D., Professor Group representations, harmonic analysis, and K - 12 mathematics education kenneth.gross@uvm.edu
Larry D. Haugh Larry D. Haugh, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus Statistical process control and quality improvement; medical biostatistics larry.haugh@uvm.edu
William Lakin William Lakin, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus Applied Mathematics, Modeling, Biomathematics bill.lakin@uvm.edu
Jack Lawlor Jack Lawlor, M.A., Senior Lecturer Emeritus Geometry, complex numbers and their interconnections john.lawlor@uvm.edu
Brian MacPherson Brian MacPherson, M.S., Lecturer Emeritus Applied probability, statistics education brian.macpherson@uvm.edu
Holly B. Puterbaugh Holly B. Puterbaugh, M.S., Senior Lecturer Emerita Mathematics education holly.puterbaugh@uvm.edu
Robert Wright Robert Wright, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus Approximation Theory, Computational Linear Algebra bob.wright@uvm.edu

 

 

Department Staff

  Name Office & Phone Email
  Meghan Kelly 16 Colchester Ave Room 209 | 802-656-4281 mkelly13@uvm.edu
  Karen Wright 16 Colchester Ave Room 208B | 802-656-4355 kwright1@uvm.edu