University of Vermont

The College of Arts and Sciences

Department of English


Departmental Awards

At the end of each year, the English Department awards outstanding students with a number of departmental awards at the department's honors day. Students interested in the Allbee, Pinta, Pope, or Wainwright awards should speak with their English instructors about how to compete for these awards.

Samuel N. Bogorad Memorial Award for the Outstanding Senior in English:

Given in memory of Samuel Bogorad, an English professor who taught from 1946 to 1982, it is presented to one outstanding senior majoring in English.

Marion Berry Allbee Award for Excellence in Composition:

Several awards for outstanding non-fiction writing are given through a fund established by Dr. Roger Allbee, UVM College of Medicine, in memory of his wife, UVM Class of 1931.

Douglas A. Pinta Award:

Established in memory of a UVM graduate, it is presented to a student dedicated to creative writing.

Dugan Foley Memorial Award:

The Dugan Foley Memorial Award was established in 1995 in remembrance of Dugan Foley, and goes to a junior who is minoring in film studies.

Willard B. Pope Award:

In honor of Dr. Willard Pope, emeritus professor of English, this award recognizes a student who excels in the study and/or research of Shakespeare or Romanticism. The award alternates between these two subject areas each year.

Benjamin B. Wainwright Prize:

In honor of Professor Wainwright, who taught at UVM from 1925 to 1963, this prize goes to the student who submits the best poem each year.


Last modified May 26 2015 02:51 PM