CEMS - The College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences

2006 IEEE ICDM Outstanding Service Award goes to Dr. Xindong Wu

Release Date: 11-01-2006

Author: CEMS Communications

Dr. Xindong WuThe IEEE ICDM Outstanding Service Award is given to one individual or one group who has made major service contributions that have promoted data mining as a field and ICDM as the world's premier research conference in data mining. The 2006 IEEE ICDM Outstanding Service Award goes to Dr. Xindong Wu, Professor and Chair of the Computer Science Department in the College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences (CEMS) at the University of Vermont.

Dr. Wu is the founder of the IEEE ICDM conference and has been the main driving force for many ICDM initiatives — such as setting up various guidelines, organizing the ICDM 2001 panel on how research meets practical development in data mining, and identifying the 10 challenging problems in data mining — and for the overall success of the ICDM conference series.

A world leader in the data mining community, Wu is the founder of the Knowledge and Information Systems (KAIS) journal and the Founding Chair of the IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Intelligent Informatics (TCII). Currently he serves as the editor-in-chief of the IEEE Transactions on Knowledge and Data Engineering (TKDE) and is a Program Committee co-chair for the 13th ACM SIGKDD International Conference on Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining (KDD-07).

Professor Wu is also an internationally renowned scholar in data mining research, with extensive publications in top-tier journals and conferences, including IEEE TKDE, TPAMI, ACM TOIS, DMKD, KAIS, IJCAI, AAAI, ICML, KDD, ICDM, and WWW, as well as 12 books and conference proceedings. He has been an invited/keynote speaker at numerous conferences including IEEE EDOC'06, IEEE ICTAI'04, IEEE/WIC/ACM WI'04/IAT'04, SEKE 2002, and PADD-97.

The 2006 IEEE ICDM Nomination Committee and Evaluation Committee members are:

  • Vijay V. Raghavan (Chair), University of Louisiana, USA
  • Max Bramer, University of Portsmouth, UK
  • Nick Cercone, York University, Canada.
  • David Hand, Imperial College, UK
  • Ramamohanarao Kotagiri, University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Katharina Morik, University of Dortmund, Germany
  • Alex Tuzhilin, New York University, USA
  • Benjamin W. Wah, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • Philip S. Yu, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA
  • Ning Zhong, Maebashi Institute of Technology, Japan

Contact UVM © 2014 The University of Vermont - Burlington, VT 05405 - (802) 656-3131