University of Vermont

Huston Receives 2012 Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Award

Dryver HustonDr. Dryver Huston, professor of mechanical engineering in the School of Engineering (SoE) in UVM’s College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences, is one of four UVM faculty to receive the 2012 UVM Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Award. Each awardee will receive $1000 at a UVM ceremony to be held in the fall of 2012.

“Dryver is one more outstanding CEMS faculty member to be recognized by this noteable award,” says Bernard “Chip” Cole, Interim Dean of the UVM College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences.

Since 1990, twelve CEMS faculty have been recipients of this award:
Gagan Mirchandani, Professor, Electrical Engineering, 2011
Robert Erickson, Senior Lecturer, Computer Science, 2007
Mandar Dewoolkar, Assistant Professor, Engineering, 2007
Sheila Weaver, Lecturer, Math and Stats, 2002
Ned (John) Lecky, Professor, Electrical Engineering 2002
Larry Kost, Lecturer, Department of Mathematics and Statistics, 2000
David Dummit, Professor, Mathematics and Statistics, 1999
Karla Karstens, Lecturer, Mathematics & Statistics, 1999
Joan Rosebush, Continuing Education, Mathematics and Statistics, 1999
Helen Read, Continuing Education, Mathematics & Statistics, 1993
Richard Foote, Associate Professor, Mathematics & Statistics, 1990

"I am truly honored to be recognized by colleagues with this award," says Dr. Huston.

The Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Awards memorialize Robert H. and Ruth M. Kroepsch and her parents, Walter C. and Mary L. Maurice, all of whom were teachers. The Awards recognize faculty for excellence in instruction, capacity to animate and engage students, innovation in teaching methods and/or curriculum development, demonstrated commitment to cultural diversity, ability to motivate and challenge students, and evidence of excellent advising.

The other recipients are: Lisa Holmes, Associate Professor in Political Science, Jeremy Sibold, Assistant Professor in Rehabilitation, and Angela Patten, Lecturer in English.

For more on these awards visit:


For more information on the 2012 Awards Ceremony, contact: Nina Wu 656-1156