University of Vermont

Human Resource Services and Operations

Banner Navigation
UBAC Members

University Benefits Advisory Council (UBAC) Members

UBAC Chair

  • Jan Carney, Research Professor & Associate Dean for Public Health, COM

Faculty Senate Representatives

  • Larry Kost, Senior Lecturer, Mathematics and Statistics
  • Gary Mawe, Professor, Neurological Sciences, Pharmacology, Medicine

United Academics Representatives

  • Frank Nicosia, Professor, History
  • David Shiman, Professor, Education

United Academics Representative - Part-Time

  • Dan Wells, Lecturer, Rubenstein School of the Environment and Natural Resources

Staff Council Representatives

  • Debra Stern, Office Program Support Generalist, COM Microbiology and Molecular Genetics
  • Kelly Circe, Office Program Support Sr., Education, Dean’s Office

Student Government Association Representative

  • Elliott Asher, Chair, Finance Committee, Student Government Association

Graduate Student Senate Representative

  • Appointed, but Not Confirmed


  • Michael Blow, Police Officer
  • Sharon Patenaude, Dispatcher

UE Local 267

  • Carmyn Stanko, Utilities Tradesperson Senior, Physical Plant
  • David Hamilton, Sr., Building Access Specialist


  • Michael Gurdon, Professor, Associate Dean, School of Business Administration
  • Claude Nichols, Professor and Chair, Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation
  • Claire Burlingham, Controller, Controller’s Office
  • Tim Murad, Emeritus Faculty
  • Lee Philips, Emeritus Faculty
  • Gus Mastro, Retired Staff


  • Wanda Heading-Grant, Vice President for Human Resources, Diversity and Multicultural Affairs
  • Barbara Johnson, Associate Vice-President, Human Resource Services

Staff Support

  • Lee Stewart, Director, HRS Operations
  • Greg Brown, Manager, HRS Operations
  • Megan Reed, HRS Employee Adviser

Return to the UBAC Main Page

Last modified February 03 2014 12:39 PM