The Catamount Core Curriculum Committee

an ad hoc joint committee of the Faculty Senate and the Office of the Provost

The committee will serve through the 2021/2022 & 2022/2023 academic years and will be replaced by a standing committee of the Faculty Senate, the composition of which will be determined by the Senate over the course of the next two years as part of a Faculty Senate bylaws review process.

Visit the General Education website for information about the General Education Program at UVM, and to access Course Action Form Supplements

CCCC SharePoint Site - information hub for members (login required)

Charge of the CCCC

The CCCC is responsible for oversight of UVM’s program of General Education, including:

  • Define requirements, establish criteria for courses satisfying requirements, and set student learning outcomes for each requirement
  • Review and approve course submissions for each requirement
  • Periodically review approved courses to ensure they continue to meet requirement criteria
  • Use assessment data to periodically review and recommend changes, if appropriate, to General Education program
  • Establish policies necessary to implement and sustain General Education program
  • Report annually to the Provost and the Faculty Senate (and/or Senate Curricular Affairs Committee)
  • Consult with others as appropriate

CCCC Membership & Chair

The CCCC consists of 21 voting members, and 7 non-voting members.  

The Chair of the Catamount Core Curriculum Committee is Pablo Bose, Provost's Fellow for Catamount Core.

Voting members include nine (9) faculty representatives elected from each of the undergraduate degree-granting units:

College of Agriculture & Life Sciencespending
College of Arts & SciencesBridget Swanson
College of Engineering and Mathematical SciencesJoseph Kudrle
College of Education & Social ServicesShana Haines
College of Nursing & Health SciencesJeremy Sibold
Grossman School of BusinessSuzanne Lowensohn
Honors CollegeIan Grimmer
LibrariesDaisy Benson
Rubenstein School of Environment & Natural ResourcesCecilia Danks

Voting Members also include twelve (12) faculty with representation from at least four (4) undergraduate degree-granting units, appointed by the Faculty Senate President and the Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and Student Success, each providing expertise in one of the 12 categories encompassed within the Catamont Core:

Liberal Arts  
 ArtsKat Scollins
 HumanitiesDave Massell
 MathematicsJoan Rosebush
 Natural Sciencespending
 Social SciencesJenn Strickler
Core Skills  
 Quantitative & Data Literacypending
 Writing & Information Literacy (Foundational & Tier 2)Susanmarie Harrington
 Oral CommunicationNicole Phelps
Common GroundValues  
 Diversity 1pending
 Diversity 2Clare Ginger
 Global Citizenshippending

The seven (7) non-voting members of the CCCC: 

Undergraduate Student Representative pending
Graduate Teaching Assistant Student Representative pending
The Postdoctoral Fellow for AssesmentRichard Cohen
Professional Advising Collective Representative, representing academic Dean's Office advisorsLynn White Cloud
Community and Experiential Learning Office (CELO)Susan Munkres
The Provost's Faculty Fellow for General EducationPablo Bose
The Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and Student SuccessJ.Dickinson
Faculty Senate Executive Council Representative, appointed by the Faculty Senate Presidentpending