University of Vermont

Master of Public Administration

CDAE Associate Professor Adds to a Growing History of Award Winners

Dr. Liang fourth overall and third current faculty member to receive competitive Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teachingve award

Dr. Liang teaches CDAE 267
Dr. Liang, a recipient of the 2011 Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Award, teaches to her CDAE 267 course

Community Development and Applied Economics (CDAE) Associate Professor Chyi-Lyi (Kathleen) Liang, PhD has been named one of the recipients of the 2011 Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Award.  The award is given each year to recognize UVM professors and lecturers for excellent instruction in—and beyond—the classroom.  According to the award’s website, criteria for consideration include “excellence in instruction (including learning experiences outside the traditional classroom), capacity to animate students and engage them in the pursuit of knowledge and understanding, innovation in teaching methods and/or curriculum development, demonstrated commitment to cultural diversity, ability to motivate and challenge students, and evidence of excellent advising.”

Alexandra Curtis, a student in Dr. Liang’s upper-level, culminating CDAE 267: Strategic Planning for Community Entrepreneurs course, thinks Liang is a deserving recipient, “Dr.Liang is one of the best professors I have had at UVM... Her unique and engaging way of teaching keeps students interested in class.  I actually walk out of her class feeling like I have learned something that will benefit my life.” 

"She genuinely cares about teaching material that not only benefits in the class, but more importantly, the real world. Her knowledge, energy, and high respect for students allows for motivation and a deeper understanding of ourselves and the world around us," adds Marla Gilman, a Senior Community Entrepreneurship major.  

Dr. Liang is the fourth CDAE faculty member to receive the award since it was first given in 1987, and joins Dr. Daniel Baker (2003) and Dr. Jonathan Leonard (1991) as current faculty members to receive the award.  She is the first winner at the Associate Professor level for the department.

“I am really humbled to be honored by my colleagues.  I always love what I do,” reflects Liang.  “Being an educator is the most precious experience for me: to work with the younger generation and assist them in becoming our future leaders.  I teach them how to succeed and how to fail in all aspects of life.  Students help me to become a better teacher everyday, and they push me to learn new things all the time.  Receiving this award raises my own expectations of how I can do more in the future.  It marks a new beginning of my life.”

Kroepsch-Maurice award recipients have historically hailed from the College of Arts and Sciences; however, in recent years the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences (CALS) has had a growing number of recipients.  The CDAE department boasts the largest pool of recipients within CALS.

The other 2011 award recipients include: Professor Gagan S. Mirchandani of the Compuster Science Department, Assistant Professor Sayamwong E Hammack of the Psychology Department, Lecturer, Cuong T. Mai of the Religion Department.

The Kroepsch-Maurice award comes with $1,000 in prize money.


Contact UVM © 2016 The University of Vermont - Burlington, VT 05405 - (802) 656-3131