Primary Appointments

Profile Name & Homepage Area of Expertise Email
Josh Bongard

Josh Bongard
Associate Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Evolutionary robotics, evolutionary computation, physical simulation jbongard@uvm.edu
David Darais

David Darais
Assistant Professor (January '18)
Graduate Student Advisor

Software Reliability, Program Analysis, Mechanized Verification,
Computer-checkable Proofs, Functional Programming, Language-based
Security, Type Systems.

darais@cs.umd.edu

(Until January '18)

Margaret (Maggie) Eppstein
Chair
Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Complex systems modeling and analysis, including evolutionary and agent-based computing, artificial neural networks, complex networks, etc., with applications in a variety of biological, physical, technological, and social domains. meppstei@uvm.edu
Laurent Hébert-Dufresne

Laurent Hébert-Dufresne
Assistant Professor (January '18)
Graduate Student Advisor

Complex Networks, Dynamics of Contagion, Network Comparison

laurent.hebert.dufresne@gmail.com

(Until January '18)

Byung S. Lee
Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Database. Data mining, data stream, query processing, event processing. bslee@uvm.edu

Alan Ling
Associate Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Combinatorial design theory, coding theory, sequence designs, design theory, statistical design of experiments. aling@uvm.edu
Christian Skalka

Christian Skalka
Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
Associate Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Design of programming languages, especially type disciplines, to support security and safety in programs; information systems combining embedded and mobile devices with machine learning data analysis, in diverse applications including snow hydrology and psychological sciences. ceskalka@uvm.edu
Safwan Wshah

Safwan Wshah
Assistant Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Machine Learning, Image & Video Processing, Deep Learning, Pattern Recognition, Computer Vision, Document Imaging & Digital Signal Processing.

safwan.wshah@gmail.com

(Until September '17)

 

Secondary Appointments

Profile Name & Homepage Area of Expertise Email

James Bagrow
Assistant Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Complex Systems and Complex Networks jbagrow@uvm.edu
Brian Beckage

Brian Beckage
Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Biocomplexity, computational models of ecosystems, population and community dynamics, effects of disturbances and climate change on biodiversity Brian.Beckage@uvm.edu

Chris Danforth
Associate Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Chaos, Mathematical Modeling, Computational Methods, Numerical Weather Prediction, Complex Systems, Computational Social Science cdanfort@uvm.edu

Jeffrey Dinitz
Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Computational and algebraic methods for determining the structure and existence of combinatiorial configurations, such as designs and graphs.  jdinitz@uvm.edu

Peter Sheridan Dodds
Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Complex systems and networks, contagion, sociotechnical phenomena, happiness, stories. pdodds@uvm.edu

Paul Hines
Associate Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Electrical energy systems, cascading failure in power systems, complex networks and vulnerability, optimization, energy policy phines@uvm.edu

Kurt Oughstun
Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Electromagnetic and optical field theory, ultrawideband dispersive pulse propagation, linear and nonlinear optics, applied mathematics. keoughst@uvm.edu

George Pinder
Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Mathematic methods applied to groundwater hydrology. gpinder@uvm.edu

Michael Radermacher
Associate Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Three-dimensional (3D) Reconstruction of Single Particles from Electron Micrographs mraderma@uvm.edu

Donna Rizzo
Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Development of new computational tools, including artificial neural networks, to improve the understanding of human induced changes on natural systems and the way we make decisions about natural resources. drizzo@uvm.edu

Jun Yu
Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Mathematical modeling, asymptotic and numerical analysis of differential equations, hydrodynamic stability, perturbation theory, biomedical mathematics. jyu@uvm.edu

Asim Zia
Assistant Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Computational Policy Analysis, Decision Analysis, Complex Systems (in particular Agent Based Modeling, System Dynamic Modeling, Bayesian Network Modeling) azia@uvm.edu