Primary Appointments

Profile Name & Title Area of Expertise Email

Alan Ling
Associate Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Combinatorial design theory, coding theory, sequence designs, design theory, statistical design of experiments. aling@uvm.edu

Alicia Wolfe
Lecturer

Artificial Intelligence known as Reinforcement Learning apwolfe@uvm.edu

Alison Pechenick
Senior Lecturer

Scientific Computation with MATLAB amp@uvm.edu

Byung S. Lee
Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Database. Data mining, data stream, query processing, event processing. bslee@uvm.edu

Christian Skalka
Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
Associate Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Design of programming languages, especially type disciplines, to support security and safety in programs; information systems combining embedded and mobile devices with machine learning data analysis, in diverse applications including snow hydrology and psychological sciences. ceskalka@uvm.edu

Jackie Horton
Senior Lecturer

  jlhorton@uvm.edu

Josh Bongard
Associate Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Evolutionary robotics, evolutionary computation, physical simulation jbongard@uvm.edu

Lisa Dion
Lecturer

  ldion2@uvm.edu

Margaret (Maggie) Eppstein
Chair
Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Complex systems modeling and analysis, including evolutionary and agent-based computing, artificial neural networks, complex networks, etc., with applications in a variety of biological, physical, technological, and social domains. meppstei@uvm.edu

Robert Erickson
Senior Lecturer

Education in Computer Science, Online Learning, Web development. rerickso@uvm.edu

 

Secondary Appointments

Profile Name & Title Area of Expertise Email

Asim Zia
Assistant Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Computational Policy Analysis, Decision Analysis, Complex Systems (in particular Agent Based Modeling, System Dynamic Modeling, Bayesian Network Modeling) azia@uvm.edu

Chris Danforth
Assistant Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Chaos, Mathematical Modeling, Computational Methods, Numerical Weather Prediction, Complex Systems, Computational Social Science cdanfort@uvm.edu

Dawei Li
Assistant Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Human genetics and genome research for disease gene identification dli5@uvm.edu

Donna Rizzo
Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

  drizzo@uvm.edu

George Pinder
Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Mathematic methods applied to groundwater hydrology. gpinder@uvm.edu

James Bagrow
Assistant Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Complex Systems and Complex Networks jbagrow@uvm.edu

Jeffrey Dinitz
Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

  jdinitz@uvm.edu

Jun Yu
Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

  jyu@uvm.edu

Kurt Oughstun
Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Electromagnetic and optical field theory, ultrawideband dispersive pulse propagation, linear and nonlinear optics, applied mathematics. keoughst@uvm.edu

Michael Radermacher
Associate Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Three-dimensional (3D) Reconstruction of Single Particles from Electron Micrographs mraderma@uvm.edu

Paul Hines
Associate Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Electrical energy systems, cascading failure in power systems, complex networks and vulnerability, optimization, energy policy phines@uvm.edu

Peter Sheridan Dodds
Professor
Graduate Student Advisor

Complex systems and networks, contagion, sociotechnical phenomena, happiness, stories. pdodds@uvm.edu

 

Staff

Profile Name & Title Area of Expertise Email

Penni French
Academic Office Coordinator

  mfrench@uvm.edu


Adjunct Faculty

  Name & Title Education Contact

John Cohn
Adjunct Professor

Ph.D., Carnegie Mellon University

Personal Web Page
Wikipedia

 

Emeritus

  Name & Title Education Email
Jeanne Douglas

Jeanne Douglas
Senior Lecturer Emeritus

M.S., University of Vermont

jmdougla@uvm.edu