University of Vermont

The College of Arts and Sciences

Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies

Previous Daniel-McCarter Award Winners


Katherine Monterosso's research, which she conducted for her honor’s thesis in Women’s and Gender Studies, examines the policy regarding transgender students at Hollins University, a women’s college in Virginia. Her paper provides an in-depth analysis of the history and future of women’s colleges and offers a cogent critique of the policy, drawing out its roots in essentialist and binary conceptions of the sex/gender system and its role in policing student bodies. In doing so, she presents a theoretically sophisticated analysis with important policy and social justice implications.

Zakary Jukett's original script, Hammer Me!, which was featured at this year’s Race, Gender, and Sexuality Conference, uses the medium of theater to explore and engage the audience around issues of sexuality, gender, and performance. As Porsche, Zakary weaves together theory and practice, the personal and the political, inviting audiences to think about gender and sexuality in new ways and demonstrating the transformative potential of drag for both self and society.


Amanda Calendine for her paper entitled "Location Matters: Urban and Rural Manifestations of Identity Building for the Lesbian and Gay Community from the 1940s up to the Stonewall Riots". This was an original and innovative project, produced for Queer Lives: LGBT History taught by Paul Deslandes.

"In her innovative paper, Amanda Calendine uses oral histories, memoirs, and a variety of other sources to explore gay and lesbian bars in rural and urban areas of the United States prior to the Stonewall riots of 1969. By drawing on a broad range of disciplinary perspectives, Calendine examines both the geography of queerness and lesbian and gay usage of public and private spaces. In addition to recovering an important part of LGBT history, Calendine's paper illustrates how the bar culture of the 40s, 50s, and 60s influenced post-Stonewall queer life and activism. The prize committee commends Amanda for this work of great originality and perceptive analysis."


Daniel-McCarter Award for LGBT Scholarship to Max Lieb for a You Tube Channel that Max created for Reese Kelly's Trans/Gender Community and Politics Class. This project, which contains multiple episodes, provides a narrative of issues related to gender and sexual identities and transgender politics. The committee was particularly impressed with Max's "A Genderqueer Manifesto" and found the work to be creative and insightful.


Honorable Mention to Jessica Bullock for a paper (submitted for Val Rohy's "Gender and Sexuality Studies in Literature" class) titled "The Queer Child: Existing In and Out of Time."


Jillian Brelsford for the paper, "Librarians, Queerness, and Kids" offered by Dr. Paul Deslandes


This year's winner was Kimberly April Meekins Shane for her honors thesis entitled "Pleasures of the Bitten Peach: An Exploration of Gender & Sexuality in Late Imperial China".


The 2008 winner was John Davis for his essay, "Universalized Sexuality in Zami".


The 2007 winner was Lindsey Carfagna for her essay "Valuing Equity in Corporate America".


2007 Honorable Mention went to Ashley Mark for "An Essentialist Approach to the Origins of Sexuality and Its Implications".


The 2006 winner was Emily Porter for her essay "The Depiction of Freakishness Around the Drag King Performance."


The 2005 winners were Jakob VanLammeren for his film "To Live in a Body of Duplicity" and Eric Siegel for his essay "Our Darkness is Our Light: Helen Keller and the Nature of the Real".

Last modified May 09 2017 01:33 PM