University of Vermont


About the Project

UVM Leading by Design for a Sustainable and Desirable Future

The Leading By Design Project started in March of 2007, with a 15 million dollar challenge from the Lewis Foundation to transform the University into a "catalyst, a model, and an engine of change—a driving force that leads society by design to a sustainable and desirable future."

The Foundation asked the University to submit a plan that addressed the full scope of institutional activities, including academic, physical plant, financial operations, and community engagement.

To facilitate the proposal development, the University established a Task Force, group composed of UVM faculty, staff, administrators, student representatives, and Burlington community members, It worked in close consultation with President Dan Fogel and Provost John Hughes, and drew upon ideas developed by the larger university and Burlington community through a envisioning process.

The proposal was reviewed by the Faculty Senate in December, 2007, and further discussed at a University Leadership Retreat in January, 2008. In February, President Fogel charged a new committee with the task of further refining the proposal before resubmitting it to the Faculty Senate and Lewis Foundation.

UVM Leading by Design Task Force
  • Lisa Aultman-Hall, UVM Transportation Center
  • Kenneth Bagstad, UVM Graduate Student
  • Cynthia Belliveau, Continuing Education
  • Paul Bierman, College of Arts & Sciences, Department of Geology
  • Jan Blittersdorf, NRG Systems, Inc.
  • Frances Carr, Vice President for Research & Dean of Graduate Studies
  • Salvatore Chiarelli, UVM Physical Plant
  • Chrysanne Chotas, UVM Corporation & Foundation Relations
  • Judith Ann Cohen, College of Nursing and Health Sciences & Faculty Senate
  • Robert Costanza, (Chair, UVM Leading by Design Project)  Gund Institute for Ecological Economics
  • Cami Davis, UVM Environmental Program &  Department of Art and Art History
  • Don Dehayes, The Rubenstein School of Environment and Natural Resources
  • Domenico Grasso, College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences
  • Eileen Horn, UVM Graduate Student
  • Charles Hulse, College of Medicine
  • Ida Kubiszewski, UVM Graduate Student
  • Eleanor Miller, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Fayneese Miller, College of Education and Social Services
  • Michael Monte, City of Burlington, CEDO
  • Melinda Moulton, Main Street Landing Co.
  • Deb Neher, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
  • Noah Pollock, UVM Graduate Student
  • Will Raap, Gardener's Supply
  • Betty Rambur, College of Nursing and Health Sciences
  • Donna Rizzo, College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences
  • Chuck Ross, Vermont Director, Senator Leahy's Office
  • Matt Sayre, (Project Coordinator, UVM Leading by Design)  UVM Finance &  Graduate Student
  • Larry Shirland, School of Business Administration
  • Gioia Thompson, Environmental Council
  • Kate Westdijk, Coordinator of Community-Based Learning, Rubenstein School of Environment and Natural Resources

Last modified April 06 2009 03:07 PM

Contact UVM © 2016 The University of Vermont - Burlington, VT 05405 - (802) 656-3131