University of Vermont

College of Arts and Sciences

Department of  Physics

2005 Award Winners Department of Physics
Room 402A Cook Physical Sciences
Burlington, Vermont 05405
phone: (802) 656-2644
fax: (802) 656-0817

Award Winners 2005

Each year the Department of Physics recognizes and awards undergraduates who have made outstanding contributions to scholarship and research.  This year the award winners are:

Jonathan Bessette
Albert Crowell Award for Undergraduate Research
Jonathan Bessette, 2005 Crowell Award winner
Jonathan Bessette is from Essex, Vermont.  He likes "moonlit skies, stary (sic) nights and long walks on the beach".  Jonathan's research has involved fabrication of organic semiconductor devices using pentacene. He is a member of the John Dewey Honors program and has received a URECA grant for his undergraduate research in Dr. Randy Headrick's lab.   Jonathan is going to Dartmouth College for graduate school in the Engineering Physics.

Stephen Redman
Juenker Award for Scholastic Achievement
Stephen Redman, 2005 winner of the Juenker Award
A native Vermonter, Stephen Redman grew up in the town of Milton, where he attended Milton High School and developed an interest in the physical sciences, with a leaning towards astronomy and physics.  A Green & Gold scholar, Stephen has researched pulsars for the past two years as a Physics major with minors in Chemistry, Mathematics, and Religion.  His research has taken him to the Arecibo telescope in Puerto Rico on two separate occasions (and once remotely), where he has conducted observations using the largest single-dish radio telescope on Earth.  Earlier this year he published his first paper in the Monthly Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society.  In the future, Stephen looks forward to attending graduate school at Penn State, with the intention of earning a Ph.D. in Astrophysics.  

Last modified June 06 2008 10:43 PM

Contact UVM © 2015 The University of Vermont - Burlington, VT 05405 - (802) 656-3131