University of Vermont

Export Controls

Export Controls

Export Controls
- Controlled or Embargoed Countries, Entities, and Persons -

In considering whether or not a shipment, transfer, transmission or disclosure will require an export license, we need to consider WHAT is being shipped, WHERE it is going, and TO WHOM it is being exported or disclosed.

The lists on this page deal with WHERE and TO WHOM items, information or software is going. (See the lists of controlled technologies for guidance about WHAT may be sent.)

Certain destinations, organizations and individuals are subject to trade sanctions, embargoes and restrictions under U.S. law.

If you intend to ship to a country, entity or person that appears on a restricted list, contact Victoria Jones, Research Integrity Compliance Officer or Brian Prindle,  Executive Director, Research Administration. 

Embargoed or Otherwise Restricted
Destinations, Organizations or Individuals
  • Countries with restricted entities on the EAR Entity Chart
    (15 CFR 744, Supp. 4 - pdf file)
    China, India, Israel, Pakistan, Russia, Syria, United Arab Emirates
  • Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) Embargoed Countries
    Cuba, Iran, Syria, North Korea, Myanmar (formerly Burma) and Sudan

    See Sanctions Program and Country Summaries for more specific information.
  • OFAC Listed Countries and Territories Subject to Sanctions
    Liberia, Iraq, Zimbabwe, Balkans, Cote D'Ivoire (formerly Ivory Coast) and the Palestinian Territories *
* US Persons are authorized to engage in activities with the Palestinian Authority government of Prime Minister Salam Fayyad and President Mahmoud Abbas, including all branches, ministries, offices, and agencies (independent or otherwise) thereof. Dealings with other entities or persons covered by the prohibitions remain in effect.

          See Sanctions Program and Country Summaries for more specific information.

  • OFAC Specially Designated Nationals and Blocked Persons List

  • ITAR Prohibited Countries
    Afghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, Iran, Iraq, Libya, N. Korea, Syria, Vietnam, Myanmar (formerly Burma), China, Haiti, Liberia, Rwanda, Somalia, Sudan, Venezuela, or Democratic Republic of the Congo (formerly Zaire), any UN Security Council arms embargoed country (e.g., for certain exports to Rwanda).
  • Denied Persons List
    A list of individuals who are denied export privileges by the Commerce Department
  • Additional U. S. Department of Commerce Bureau of Industry and Security lists
    This link provides the following lists which may be relevant to your export or reexport transaction: an Unverified List, Entity List, Debarred List, Nonproliferation Sanctions, and General Order 3 of Part 736 (page 9).

This material is adapted from the basic design and content of Stanford University's Decision Tree. We appreciate Stanford in granting us permission to use its content for the benefit of the University of Vermont.

last updated 11/2/17

Last modified November 09 2017 02:33 PM

Contact UVM © 2018 The University of Vermont - Burlington, VT 05405 - (802) 656-3131