Logo
Home | About Us | IPM | Asian Longhorned Beetle | SunnPest | International | Database | Publications | Presentations | Audio & Video



 

 Bills Vision

 

 

 

The Entomology Research Laboratory represents a team of scientists committed to the development of effective biological control agents for forest, greenhouse and vegetable insect pest management.  Insect pest problems are addressed with an interdisciplinary approach, using insights drawn from senior scientists, the assistance of specialized  technicians, and some graduate students.  Emphasis is placed on practical aspects of research to solve ‘real world’ problems.  Though focused on agricultural problems of Vermont, our projects have national and international significance as well.  Through our work we attempt to develop management options that are environmentally sound, economically viable and sustainable, and encourage their implementation through extension and education.

We strongly believe in the value of cooperative research, and foster links with scientists and pest managers from a broad range of agencies and organizations; among them the Vermont Department of Forests, Parks & Recreation; University of California, Rothamsted Experimental Station (UK), the International Center for Agricultural Research in the Dry Areas (Syria), Haifa University, International Center for Insect Physiology and Ecology (Kenya), and Mycotech funding agencies including the Vermont Department of Forests, Parks & Recreation, USDA (Hatch, Forest Service, Agriculture Research Service and SARE), US Agency of International Development (USAID), University of Vermont, greenhouse and vegetable growers' associations, local, state, and national sugarmaker associations, and private foundations.

Research on fungal pathogens for IPM of greenhouse and forest pests has been our major thrust for several years. This team is rapidly assuming a leadership role in insect pest management using fungi. We are committed to meeting the needs of growers nationwide, and have shown that our IPM strategies offer new and innovative benefits to pest management over a wide geographic range.

Research projects underway are designed to investigate fungal pathogens for the control of  serious greenhouse pests such as western flower thrips, silverleaf whitefly and green peach aphid; a variety of important forest pests, including: pear thrips, gypsy moth and hemlock woolly adelgid; and agricultural pests like the western bean cutworm and brown marmorated stink bug.  Strong links are maintained with the Forest Service, Extension personnel and greenhouse growers to ensure that the research will produce practical solutions to pest problems.

 

 

 

 
ENTOMOLOGY RESEARCH TEAM

 

 

Bruce L. Parker, PhD
Entomologist, Project Leader
bparker@uvm.edu


Margaret

 

Don Tobi



Margaret Skinner, PhD
Entomologist
mskinner@uvm.edu

Don Tobi, MS
Forest Entomologist & Forester
dtobi@uvm.edu 


Vladimir

 

Svetlana

 

 

 

Vladimir Gouli, PhD
Insect Pathologist
vgouli@uvm.edu

 

Svetlana Gouli, PhD
Microbiologist
sgouli@uvm.edu

 

 

 

Brent

 

Cheryl

 

Brent H. Teillon, MS
Entomologist
hteillon@uvm.edu

 

Cheryl E. Frank Sullivan, MS
Greenhouse IPM Research Specialist
cfrank@uvm.edu

 

Ross

 

Joyce

 

 

 

Ross T. Bell, PhD
Entomologist
rtbell@zoo.uvm.edu

 

Joyce Bell, MS
Entomologist
rtbell@zoo.uvm.edu


Agrin

Arash

Liz Hodgdon

Agrin Davari, MS
PhD Candidate

adavari@uvm.edu

Arash Ghalehgolabbehbahani, MS
Visiting PhD Candidate

 

Elisabeth Hodgdon, MS
PhD Candidate

ehodgdon@uvm.edu

 


Home | About Us | IPM | Asian Longhorned Beetle | SunnPest | International | Database | Publications | Presentations | Audio & Video