Merging Courses and Cross-listed Sections
The process of "combining courses" has been replaced by a new method of merging courses.
Every course with a unique CRN will have a Blackboard course space, automatically. If you teach multiple sections of a course and want to merge them to a single course space, you will need to send an email from your UVM email account to email@example.com with a list of all CRNs for the sections to be merged. A CRN is the 5-Digit course registration number for a course; for example, a Fall course might have a CRN of 91234. You can look up the CRN for your courses on the Registrar's Schedule of Courses (SOC).
Important: The email must come from the "@uvm.edu" email address of instructor listed for the course.
After your courses are merged, you will see both the newly created "Parent" course, as well as the previously existing "Child" courses. Students will not have access to these child courses, but you will still have access to their content. As with all courses created on the system, you will still need to make the "Parent" course available to students before they can access it.
Merged courses will have a special column in the parent section, called "Child Course ID." This column shows the course id of the child course the student is registered for. Instructors can use this column to create smart views, groups, and other useful course management filters. For example, an instructor can create separate discussion areas restricted to students in each section by creating a group whose membership is based on the Child Course ID column. Additionally, instructors can create smart views to allow TA's to easily grade only students in the sections they are responsible for, by adding a custom Smart View in the Grade Center.
Sections that are cross-listed in the Registrar's system (Banner) automatically come over to Blackboard combined into a single section containing the rosters of both sections. There are no child courses visible after a cross-listed course is created.
If two existing sections are cross-listed, the corresponding spaces in Blackboard will become permanently unavailable to instructors and students when the new cross-listed space appears. On occasion, this can happen without instructors receiving enough forewarning to save a backup - if this is the case, the instructor of the course can contact firstname.lastname@example.org and ask for an archive of the cross-listed space (please include the 5-Digit CRN of the course to be recovered).
During the cross-listing process, titles of course spaces on Blackboard are assigned based on an algorithm in the Registrar's system. If two sections are cross-listed, the title of the space in Blackboard will reflect one of the titles in the cross-listing.