Faculty - David Feurzeig

David Feurzeig

David Feurzeig, Associate Professor
Music theory, composition

  • D.M.A. (Composition), Cornell
  • A.B. (Music), Harvard
Contact information
Email: David Feurzeig

The music of David Feurzeig has been performed throughout the United States as well as in New Zealand, Asia, and Europe. He was twice a featured guest (2005-2006) at the International Composer’s Festival in Bangkok. His Songs of Love and Protest were selected by the Dresden Chamber Chorus for the city’s 800th jubilee in 2006 and premiered in the fabled Semper Opera House. His work has been awarded the Silver Medal of the Royal Academy of Arts (London), the Hugh MacColl and Thomas Hoopes prizes from Harvard University, a Beebe fellowship, and a John James Blackmore prize.

A pianist as well, he specializes in eclectic lecture-recitals featuring music from the classics to stride piano, jazz, and new music. He is the silver medalist of the 2001 World Championship Old-Time Piano Playing Contest and recipient of the 2003 "Best New Rag" award of the Old-Time Music Preservation Association (OMPA). His research interests range from the playing of James P. Johnson and Thelonious Monk to the music of György Ligeti.

At the University of Vermont, Feurzeig teaches composition, orchestration, and theory. Before coming to UVM he held teaching positions at Illinois State University and Centre College. His students have received numerous accolades for their music, including the Toru Takemitsu and the Alexander Zemlinsky Prizes, awards from ASCAP and from the Society for Electro-Acoustic Music (SEAMUS).

Groups accompanied: Numerous commissions and performances by groups such as the Tokyo Philharmonic and the New York New Music Ensemble.

Faculty Directory

D. Thomas Toner, Department Chair
Paul Asbell, Jazz Guitar
Steve Blair, Jazz Harmony
Joe Capps, Jazz Guitar
Nadine Carpenter, Oboe
Adrian Carr, History
Tom Cleary, Jazz Piano
Sarah Cullins, Voice
Amber deLaurentis Cleary, Jazz Voice
Melissa Dickerson, Voice
Steve Ferraris, Djembe
David Feurzeig, Theory
Anne Janson, Flute
Patricia Julien, Theory, Jazz
Steve Klimowski, Clarinet
Yutaka Kono, Orchestra
Matt LaRocca, Piano, Theory
John Mantegna, Guitar
Brian McCarthy, Saxophone

Andrew Moroz, Jazz Trombone
David Neiweem, Voice, Choirs, Organ
Natalie Neuert, Arts Management
Paul Orgel, Piano
Sylvia Parker, Piano, Theory
Stuart Paton, Taiko Drumming
Suzanne Polk, Cello
Evelyn Read, Violin/Viola
Patricia Riley, Music Ed.
Chris Rivers, Wind Ensemble
John Rivers, Jazz Bass
Lori Salimando-Porter, trombone
Jeff Salisbury, Drums
Wayne Schneider, History
Heidi Soons, Harp
Clyde Stats, History
Alex Stewart, Jazz
Emily Taubl, Cello
Joshua Thompson, Horn
William Tilley, Bass
D. Thomas Toner, Band, Percussion
Ray Vega, Trumpet, Jazz
Jason Whitcomb, Trumpet
Zach Williamson, sound production
Julie Wolfe, bassoon