CAS Department Updates June 2014

CAS Dean’s Office

Below are the names of the faculty members in the College of Arts and Sciences who have just been tenured and/or promoted. The work of these faculty members is testimony to the very high standards set in this College. Their records of scholarly and creative accomplishments, their success as teachers, and their contributions to their professions, the University, the College, and the community are impressive indeed.
The CAS Full Professor Lecture Series was established in fall 2007 to give faculty members newly promoted to the rank of “full” professor the opportunity to share with the university community a single piece of their research or an overview of their research with the goal of communicating a sense of the excitement of the intellectual problems that have energized their careers.

Promotion to Professor

Promotion to Associate Professor with Tenure

Promotion to Senior Lecturer

Dean’s Lecture Awards for 2014-2015
The following professors were chosen as recipients of the Dean’s Lecture Award for the upcoming academic year:

This is the judgment of the Dean’s Lecture Award Committee: Professors Nicholas Gotelli, Anthony Grudin, Martha Thomas, and Riin Sirkel.  The committee members were impressed by how well the accomplishments of both professors fit the requirements of the award: excellence in scholarship combined with the ability to translate it into stimulating teaching.  Each recipient of the Dean’s Lecture Award will receive $1,000 in research support.  Exact dates and lecture topics for each professor will be announced in the fall.
APLE Summer Stipend Recipients
The 2014 APLE Summer recipients were recently chosen and will be awarded funding from the Dean’s office to work on summer research projects.  This year’s recipients are Theodore Klein and Annie Maheux.  APLE Summer Stipends provide a summer salary of $3,000 for undergraduate students.  Typically two stipends are awarded each year:


The department has created a blog with all kinds of accomplishments and news stories:


Christopher Landry Professor Christopher Landry has been selected as the next chair of the Department of Chemistry.  Professor Landry received his bachelor’s degree, summa cum laude, from the University of Richmond, and his Ph.D. from Harvard.  He came to UVM in 1996, received tenure in 2002, and was promoted to full professor in 2007.  He is an accomplished teacher and scholar and is the recipient of a 2013-14 University Scholar award.  His research has focused on the discovery and development of porous materials. This includes developing new methods using porous materials for the catalytic decontamination of chemical weapons and environmental pollutants, and working to develop new nanomaterials for in vivo drug delivery.  He has received a prestigious CAREER award from the National Science Foundation in addition to funding from the Department of Defense and Army Research Office, the National Institutes of Health, and several small companies.  Prof. Landry was central to the development of the cross-college undergraduate major in biochemistry, he co-chaired the university’s reaccreditation, and he served as president of UVM’s Phi Beta Kappa chapter.




Political Science

Recent faculty publications include:


Next up for the Theatre department is an exciting collaboration with the Vermont Shakespeare Company and their production of A Midsummer Night’s Dream, which will bring a cast of professional New York actors to Vermont to share the stage with UVM theatre students and alumni.  Performances will take place in Royall Tyler Theatre on August 16th and 17th.   See the recent listing in the New York Times Summer Stages Feature.