University of Vermont

Cultivating Healthy Communities

Sustainable Agriculture Council Members

Together, the Center and the Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets established a joint sustainable agriculture advisory council in 1995. The council's legislative mandate is to "encourage the development and use of economically and ecologically sound sustainable agriculture practices." Council members are appointed by the Vermont Commissioner of Agriculture and the Dean of the Division of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Extension at the University of Vermont. The Council advises the Vermont Legislature, the University of Vermont and the Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food & Markets.

Current Members:

  • Chuck Ross
    Secretary, Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food & Markets
  • Philip Ackerman-Leist
    Green Mountain College
  • Linda Berlin
    Director, UVM Center for Sustainable Agriculture
  • Diane Bothfeld
    Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food & Markets
  • Stacy Burnstein
    Castanea Foundation, Vermont Food Funders Network
  • Megan Camp
    Vice President, Shelburne Farms
  • Ela Chapin
    VT Farm Viability Enhancement Program, VT Housing and Conservation Program
  • Jed Davis
    Director of Sustainability
    Cabot Creamery Cooperative
  • Chris Dutton
    Vermont Technical College
  • Ted Foster
    Foster Brothers Farm Inc.
  • Vern Grubinger
    Director, USDA- NE SARE
  • Gail Hall
    Department of Education
  • Ellen Kahler
    Vermont Sustainable Jobs Fund
  • Jane Kolodinsky
    Professor and Chair, Community Development & Applied Economics
    Co-Director, Center for Rural Studies
  • Doug Lantagne
    Dean and Director, UVM Extension
  • Jack Lazor
    Butterworks Farm
  • Travis Marcotte
    Executive Director, Intervale Center
  • Meghan Sheradin
    Vermont Fresh Network
  • Will Stevens
    Golden Russet Farm
  • Thomas Vogelmann
    Dean, UVM College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
  • Enid Wonnacott
    Executive Director, Northeast Organic Farming Association of Vermont
  • Jim Wood
    Natural Resources Conservation Service