Seamus Heaney

Click on the photograph of Heaney to hear a talk about Seamus Heaney and four of his poems:

    Singing School: # 4, Summer 1969
    Station Island: VII, "I had come to the edge of the water"
    The Strand at Lough Beg
    Station Island: VIII, "Black water. White waves.  Furrows snowcapped."

These poems, and of course many others, can be found in:
Seamus Heaney: Selected Poems 1966-1987
            published by Noonday Press of Farrar, Straus and Giroux in 1990.

Seamus Heaney 1939, on a farm in Mossbawn, which is in the North of Ireland.  His schholing was all in the North, from grade school through college degrees from Queen's College, Belfast and St. Joseph's College in Belfast.  he became a teacher, and began at the same time to write poetry.

His books are Death of a Naturalist (1967), Door into the Dark (1969), Wintering Out (1972), Stations (1975), North (1975), Field Work (1979), Sweeney Astray (1983), Station Island (1984), The Haw Lantern (1987), Selected Poems (1990), Seeing Things (1991), Door into the Dark (1995), The Spirit Level (1996),  and Opened Ground: Selected Poems 1966-1996.  He has published essays in three collections: Preoccupations (1981), The Government of the Tongue (1990), and The Redress of Poetry (1995).

He won the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1995.  He was elected Professor of Poetry at Oxford and  Boylston Professor of Rhetoric and Oratory at Harvard.

His Nobel Prize Lecture,"Crediting Poetry", is available on line to those who click on the title in this line.