BWV 233 Messe F-Dur

BWV 234 Messe A-Dur

(BWV 242 Messe c-Moll)

Only the Christe eleison (Duet, S, A) of BWV 242 is by Bach; the remainder is by perhaps by J. L. Krebs (so Wolff), or by Johann Ludwig Bach (so Neumann and Schmieder).

Probably late 1730's.

Parody: BWV 233/3, 4, 5, 6 ← Kantate III/6, BWV 102/3, 5, BWV 40/1.
BWV 234/2, 4, 5, 6 ← BWV 67/6, BWV 179/5, BWV 79/2, BWV 136/1.

BG 8 and 41; NBA II/2.

Mass in F Major

Mass in A Major

(Mass in C Minor)


1. Chorus (S, A, T, B)

Lord have mercy, Christ have mercy, Lord have mercy.


2. Chorus (S, A, T, B)

Glory be to God on high, and on earth peace to men of good will. We praise thee, we bless thee, we worship thee, we glorify thee.

3. Aria (B)

O Lord God, heavenly King, God the Father Almighty, O Lord, the only-begotten Son, Jesus Christ, O Lord God, Lamb of God, Son of the Father.

4. Aria (S)

Thou that takest away the sins of the world, have mercy upon us. Thou that takest away the sins of the world, receive our prayer. Thou that sittest at the right hand of the Father, have mercy upon us.

5. Aria (A)

For thou only art holy; thou only art the Lord; thou only, O Jesus Christ, art most high.

6. Chorus (S, A, T, B)

With the Holy Ghost in the glory of God the Father. Amen.

Copyright Z. Philip Ambrose

Back to top