The UVMStrong Advisory Committee was formed in April 2020 in response to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic and the need to plan for Fall 2020 operations. It is chaired by Gary Derr, Vice President for Operations and Public Safety.

The committee’s deliberations are guided by three principles:

  1. Protect the safety and wellbeing of all members of the UVM Community.
  2. Preserve the quality of the academic experience.
  3. Provide a high-quality student experience.

To inform our work and our phased approach, the committee draws upon the expertise of four planning groups with more than 50 representatives from across the university. These include members of the Faculty Senate Executive Council, staff and students.

UVMStrong Advisory Members:

  • Gary Derr, Vice President for Operations and Public Safety, Chair
  • Simeon Ananou, Chief Information Officer, Team Lead - Business and Institutional Continuity
  • Nicci Brown, Chief Communications Officer
  • Claire Burlingham, University Controller, Team Lead - Business and Institutional Continuity
  • Christopher Burns, President, Faculty Senate
  • Erica Caloiero, Interim Vice Provost for Student Affairs, Team Lead - Student Experience
  • John Collins, Deputy General Counsel
  • Kirk Dombrowski, Vice President for Research, Team Lead - Research and Graduate Education
  • Bill Falls, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences, Team Lead - Faculty and Academic Affairs
  • Jes Kraus, Chief Human Resource Officer
  • Tessa Lucey, Chief Risk and Public Safety Officer
  • Julie Roberts, President United Academics

UVMStrong Working Groups:

Faculty and Academic Affairs

  • Bill Falls, Dean, College or Arts and Sciences, Chair
  • Alec Adams, Assistant Dean, Grossman School of Business
  • Barbara Arel, Associate Dean
  • Pablo Bose, Chair, Faculty Senate Diversity Curriculum Review Committee
  • Veronika Carter, University Registrar
  • Thomas Chittenden, Immediate Past President, Faculty Senate
  • Meghan Cope, United Academics
  • Paula Deming, Chair, College of Nursing and Health Sciences
  • Doug Dickey, Assistant Dean, College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences
  • Jennifer Dickinson, Associate Provost for Academic Affairs
  • Cynthia Forehand, Dean, Graduate College
  • Jean Harvey, Associate Dean, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
  • Adrian Ivakhiv, Proffessor, Rubenstein School of Environment and Natural Resources
  • David Jenemann, Dean, Honors College
  • Peter Lally, Vice President, Student Government Association
  • Katharine Shepherd, Associate Dean, College of Education and Social Services
  • Beth Taylor Nolan, Associate Dean, Continuing and Distance Education
  • Jim Vigoreaux, Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs
  • Christa Zehle, Associate Dean, College of Medicine

Research and Graduate Education

  • Kirk Dombrowski, Vice President for Research, Chair
  • Francis Churchill, Senior Associate Director Safety and Health
  • Mary Cushman, Chair, Faculty Senate Research, Scholarship and the Creative Arts Committee
  • Aayudh Das, Vice President, Graduate Student Senate
  • Cynthia Forehand, Dean, Graduate College
  • Dan Harvey, Director of Operations, Office of Vice President for Research
  • Gordon Jensen, Senior Associate Dean for Research, Larner College of Medicine
  • Jennifer Karson, United Academics
  • Brian Prindle, Executive Director for Research Administration, Office of Vice President for Research
  • Beth Kirkpatrick, Chair, Microbiology & Molecular Genetics, College of Agriculture & Life Sciences & Larner College of Medicine
  • Nate Sanders, Associate Dean, Rubenstein School of Environment & Natural Resources
  • Linda Schadler, Dean, College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences
  • Timothy Tourville, Faculty Senate Education, Research and Technology Committee

Business and Institutional Continuity

  • Simeon Ananou, Chief Information Officer, Co-Chair
  • Claire Burlingham, University Controller, Co-Chair
  • Chris Burns, President, Faculty Senate
  • Laura Clayton, Vice President, Staff Council
  • Gerald Coleman, Director of Custodial Services
  • John Collins, Office of General Counsel
  • Yves Dubief, United Academics
  • Vikki Gauvin, Senior Project Manager and Financial Analyst
  • Luce Hillman, Executive Director of Facilities Management
  • Jane Knodell, Chair, Faculty Senate Financial & Physical Planning Committee
  • Julia Russell, Associate Chief Information Officer
  • Sam Winship, Chief Business Officer, Athletics

Student Experience

  • Erica Caloiero, Interim Vice Provost for Student Affairs, Chair
  • Lana Al-Namee, SGA President
  • Michael Ashooh, United Academics
  • Bev Colston, Director Mosaic Center
  • Terrence Delaney, Associate Professor, Plant Biology
  • Jay Garvey, Member-at-Large, Faculty Senate Executive Council
  • John Paul Grogan, Center for Health and Wellbeing
  • Ryan Hargraves, Director of Admissions
  • Marie Johnson, Director Student Financial Services
  • Alex Messinger, Continuing and Distance Education
  • Jennifer Prue, Co-Chair, Faculty Senate Student Affairs Committee
  • Cathy Rahill, Associate Athletic Director
  • Avery Rasmussen, GSS President
  • Raf Rodriquez, Executive Director Residential Life
  • Daphne Wells, Director of Student Life
  • Samantha Williams, Grossman School of Business
  • Mandy Wooster, Deputy Chief of Police

In addition to drawing heavily on the expertise of our faculty in public health and medicine, the committee has worked closely with the Vermont Department of Health, Governor Phil Scott and the Vermont Legislature, and Burlington Mayor Miro Weinberger, to ensure compliance with state and local regulations, while also coordinating with higher education partners, especially those in the State of Vermont.

Committee Messages

Committee Reports

Our Phased Approach