THE UNIVERSITY OF VERMONT AND STATE AGRICULTURAL COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

FULL BOARD MEETING

Chair Ron Lumbra, Vice Chair Cynthia Barnhart, Secretary Catherine Toll, Otto Berkes, Susan Brengle, Robert Brennan, Katelynn Briere, Kevin Christie, Frank Cioffi, John Dineen, Carolyn Dwyer, President Suresh Garimella, Jodi Goldstein, Stephanie Jerome, Kenny Nguyen, Donald McCree, Carol Ode, Ed Pagano, Kristina Pisanelli, Monique Priestley, Lucy Rogers, Governor Phil Scott, Shap Smith, Tristan Toleno, and Samuel Young

Friday, October 20, 2023

11:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Silver Maple Ballroom (401) Dudley H. Davis Center

REVISED AGENDA

	Item	Enclosure/ Exemption	Discussion Leader	Time
	Call to order			*11:30 a.m.
1.	Naming of the Institute for Rural Partnerships, the Agricultural Science Building and the Surrounding Grounds	Separate distribution ¹	Suresh Garimella Tricia Coates	11:30-12:00
	Motion to recess			12:00 p.m.

^{*}Times are approximate. Action is anticipated.

¹ See appended resolution introduced at the meeting

Resolution approving the naming of the Institute for Rural Partnerships, the Agricultural Science Building and Surrounding Grounds

WHEREAS, Senator Patrick J. Leahy is a Vermonter who, during his 48 years representing the state in the United States Senate, always prioritized the interests and needs of Vermont's rural communities, including through his leadership on the U.S. Senate Subcommittees on Rural Revitalization, Conservation, Forestry and Credit and the Subcommittee on Agriculture, Rural Development, Food and Drug Administration, and Related Agencies; and

WHEREAS, Senator Leahy's advocacy for rural Vermont has resulted in countless programs in the areas of rural education, workforce and economic development, food systems, climate change, and access to technology; and

WHEREAS, Senator Leahy's leadership and support enabled UVM to realize its vision of an Institute for Rural Partnerships to enable innovation and research for the challenges facing rural regions, and develop community partnerships to address such challenges through targeted programming in critical areas of need and opportunity facing rural communities; and

WHEREAS, the Institute for Rural Partnerships is a vital aspect of UVM's land-grant mission of service to the State of Vermont; and

WHEREAS, the Institute for Rural Partnerships is located in the newly-renovated Agricultural Science Building, which has long served as the locus of collaboration between UVM, the United States Department of Agriculture, and the Vermont agricultural community; and

WHEREAS, the renovations to the Agricultural Science Building enabled by Senator Leahy have created an environment at the heart of campus in which the teaching, research and engagement elements of the university's land-grant mission take place; and

WHEREAS, the University has previously recognized Senator Leahy's incalculable contributions to UVM's mission, commitment to its students' success and expansive academic opportunities, and service to the state of Vermont through the naming of the Patrick Leahy Honors College; and

WHEREAS, the Agricultural Science Building is currently named for Joseph L. Hills, who served UVM for more than four decades as Dean of its College of Agriculture, Director of Extension Programs and as Director of the Vermont Agricultural Experiment Station; and

WHEREAS, Dean Hills' career of contributions to agricultural research have forever shaped and improved Vermont's agricultural landscape and the knowledge of Vermont farmers;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Trustees hereby gives approval for the Agricultural Science Building to be known hereafter as the Patrick Leahy Building in recognition of the Senator's support to the University and its research, teaching, and engagement mission; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Board of Trustees hereby gives approval for the University of Vermont Institute for Rural Partnerships to be known hereafter as the Leahy Institute for Rural Partnerships, in recognition of the Senator's support to Vermont's rural communities and commitment to cooperative solutions for the benefit of all Vermonters; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the surrounding grounds below and around the Patrick Leahy Building together with the Marsh Life Sciences Building, the Joseph E. Carrigan Wing, Stafford Hall, the Stafford Greenhouse, and the Aiken Center shall hereafter be designated as Joseph L. Hills Plaza.