## COMMITTEE ON BOARD GOVERNANCE BOARD OF TRUSTEES UNIVERSITY OF VERMONT AND STATE AGRICULTURAL COLLEGE

A meeting of the Committee on Board Governance of the Board of Trustees of the University of Vermont and State Agricultural College was held on Monday, December 6, 2021, at 10:30 a.m., in room 351 Waterman Building via remote conferencing.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Chair Frank Cioffi, Vice Chair Briar Alpert, Johannah Donovan, Jodi Goldstein, Berke Tinaz, and President Suresh Garimella, *ex-officio* 

ABSENT: Robert Brennan and Carolyn Dwyer

PERSONS ALSO PARTICIPATING: Board Chair Ron Lumbra, Trustee Catherine Toll, Vice President for Legal Affairs & General Counsel and Senior Advisor to the President Sharon Reich Paulsen, and Trustee Coordinator Corinne Thompson

Chair Frank Cioffi called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m.

## **Approval of minutes**

Chair Cioffi presented the minutes from the November 8, 2021 meeting for approval. A motion was made, seconded, and it was voted to approve the minutes as presented.

## Approval of slate of board and university officers for 2022

Chair Cioffi thanked committee members for their outreach to individual trustees to solicit nominations and presented the following slate of candidates for board and university officers:

Chair: Ron Lumbra
Vice Chair: Cynthia Barnhart
Secretary: Johannah Donovan

Assistant Secretary to the Board:
Provost and Senior Vice President:
Treasurer:

Sharon Reich Paulsen
Patricia Prelock
Richard Cate

A motion was made, seconded and the committee unanimously approved the slate of candidates as presented. Trustee Donovan recused from the vote on the position of Secretary.

Chair Cioffi outlined the next steps in the process. The proposed slate for vice chair and secretary and university officers will be recommended to the board for approval at the February 4, 2022 meeting. The election of chair will occur at a special meeting to be held on March 1, 2022 after new trustees begin their terms.

## Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 10:35 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Frank Cioffi, Chair