

Office of the Provost

- TO: University of Vermont Faculty
- FROM: Jennifer Dickinson, Associate Provost for Academic Affairs

RE: General Education ad hoc Committees

DATE: February 14, 2020

Ad hoc Committees

On January 27, 2020 Faculty Senate meeting, the General Education Alignment Task Force presented a draft General Education framework. Nominations of faculty with expertise and engagement with the areas covered in the new proposed Gen Ed categories to serve on ad hoc committees were solicited with a deadline of January 31, 2020. The ad hoc committees are charged with refining the draft category descriptions and course criteria as well as considering the relationship of the category to the overall framework.

Nomination Process

Where possible, all faculty nominated were invited to participate in one of the ad hoc committees. In a few cases individual departments put forward several nominees, and not all of those nominations could be accommodated. Additional faculty were also invited to committees to broaden representation from the undergraduate schools and colleges and to include participants in the additional category proposal process. All seven ad hoc committees have now been formed and begun their work; each committee is co-chaired by two members of the Task Force.

Humanities and Arts

Cathy Paris, co-chair, CALS J. Dickinson, co-chair, CAS Daisy Benson, LIB Tyler Doggett, CAS Pamela Fraser, CAS Todd McGowan, CAS Nicole Phelps, CAS Val Rohy, CAS Kat Scollins, CAS Luis Vivanco, CAS John Waldron, CAS

Social Sciences

Katie Shepherd, co-chair, CESS J. Dickinson, co-chair, CAS Meghan Cope, CAS Alec Ewald, CAS Adrian Ivakhiv, RSENR Annie Murray Close, CAS Sarah Narkewicz, CNHS Jane Petrillo, CALS Donna Ramirez Harrington, CAS Jenn Strickler, CAS

Natural Sciences

Jeff Frolick, co-chair, CEMS Joel Goldberg, co-chair, CAS Dave Barrington, CALS Mandar Dewoolkar, CEMS Steve Everse, LCOM Courtney Giles, CEMS Keith Klepeis, CAS Lori Stevens, CAS Greg Warrington, CEMS

Integration and Application of Knowledge in the Major

Barb Arel, co-chair, GSB Rosemary Dale, co-chair, CNHS Steve Budington, CAS Shirley Gideon, CAS Courtney Giles, CEMS Ian Grimmer, HCOL Kelly Hamshaw, CALS Susanmarie Harrington, CAS Jeffrey Hughes, RSENR Matt Kolan, RSENR Matt Kolan, RSENR Kerry Predergrast, CNHS Kevin Trainor, CAS Shelley Velleman, CNHS Laura Webb, CAS

Communication 2 (Writing and Information Literacy Tier 2 and Oral Communication)

Cathy Paris, co-chair CALS Joan Rosebush, co-chair CEMS Jamie Abaied CAS Caroline Beer CAS Nancy Fawley LIB Susanmarie Harrington CAS James McGuffy CALS Helen Morgan-Parmett CAS Marie-France Nelson GSB Deb Noel CAS Helga Schreckenberger CAS

Sara Solnick CAS

Global Citizenship

Allan Strong, co-chair, RSENR Joan Rosebush, co-chair, CEMS Farryl Bertman, CALS Vicki Brennan, CAS Tricia Brown, CESS Thomas DeSisto, CALS Meaghan Emery, CAS Gillian Galford, RSENR Josef Gores, CALS Steve Kostell, CALS Laurie Kutner, LIB Loka Losambe, CAS Katrina Moreau, CNHS Susan Munkres, CELO Sarah Osten, CAS Bridget Swanson, CAS Alex Zakaras, CAS

Social Justice

Katie Shepherd, co-chair, CESS J. Dickinson, co-chair, CAS Pablo Bose, CAS Bradley Bauerly, CAS Bogac Ergene, CAS Yolanda Flores, CAS Jay Garvey, CESS Jinny Huh, CAS Simon Jorgenson, CESS Tom Macias, CAS

Cc: Patricia Prelock, Provost and Senior Vice President Thomas Chittenden, Faculty Senate President